Pretty, but not satisfying

I’d love to tell you that this book was great, that the story pulled me in, that the graphic was amazing and everything was perfect. I wanted it to be so.

Paper TigersPaper Tigers (Hinges #2)
by Meredith McClaren

My rating: star-full-iconstar-full-icon star-half-full-icon star-empty-iconstar-empty-icon

Goodreads | Amazon

I received this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.Β 

Goodreads blurb

Orio and Bauble have settled nicely into the city of Cobble. But as more of Bauble’s nature reveals itself they find themselves facing a much greater world outside of Cobble’s walls.

Even though I haven’t read volume 1, I hoped I will not miss it much. Actually, there was only few information I could use at the start, but I don’t think they would help much. Well, maybe it would as I would know more about the characters and the world surrounding them. I was missing some crucial info for about half of the volume. Then again, it seems to me the events of the first part were all about the city and people living there. Now we have only Orio, her strange pet and a new character moving on with the story.

00adadc30bcf02e92a6c8b81a61d3e5a._SX640_QL80_TTD_Plus the characters weren’t really talkative, I admit this story could use just a bit more text in some places. It is clear the authors went all out with the graphic and decided that’s the best way to tell the story.

The graphic is cute. Lovely even, but sometimes it’s just a bit too flat and it makes it harder to see what’s going on. Many times I had to stare at the image and wonder “what am I actually looking at?”.

All in all this novel is a curious creation with some lovely graphic, but not really a story I would wish to follow and continue reading.

TV-Kitty-icon2Have you read it? What were your thoughts?
Maybe you have some fun graphic novel I could read?

4 thoughts on “Pretty, but not satisfying

  1. I’m missing some colour in those illustrations! It’s one of the first things that pull me in when it comes to graphic novels. Also, *holds in sexual puns referring to the title of this post* *giggles*

    Liked by 2 people

What's on your mind?

