Alien wizards and bug-like monsters? Sign me in!

That book was quite a ride! True, it took me a while to finish it, but part of it was that I’ve started reading it in my I’m-not-really-into-books phase [I do have these sometimes] and another part were some of these creepy scenes – I’m not good with horrors. But the overall impression was that it’s a damn good book!

GreethGreeth by Charles LaFave

My rating: star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-half-full-icon

Goodreads | Amazon | Interview

I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Goodreads description, or rather a part of is, since it makes the book seem darker that way and I find it fitting ;):

Three children are dead. Many more are missing. Something dark and terrible is rising. A breach has opened between worlds and an ancient god will be reborn on fertile Earth. The flesh of humanity will feed its many children.

Peter embarks on a quest for redemption to stop the ancient god from destroying the world.

Will his unique ability to create life be enough to change what he’s done?
Or will guilt from his role in helping to destroy so much life be his undoing?

At first, it was rather hard to me to get into the story. Yes, a part of it was the non-reading-mood I mentioned, but also that the story was much darker than what I’m used to. The first few chapters I read as an Amazon sample pulled me in and yet warned me of what might come next.

And I liked it.

I rarely read dark fantasy and even then it’s usually in a shape of a short story – something smaller and “easier” to handle. This book might’ve just changed my mind, maybe I will find another good read similar to this one.

There are plenty of things I liked about this story and pretty much just one that made me read it slower and in smaller portions – the brutality of this world. This is why my rating says 4,5 instead of full 5 stars, but if you’re not bothered with some blood here and there – read it!

And the good – let’s start with the heroes, shall we? There are few characters we’ll follow with Peter being the most important one. They all have their stories that clearly exceed this one book. Past that hunts them or future that awaits them. They are truly alive. When you’re reading about them, you can feel they might be real people (or wizards), existing right beside you. Yes, their world had gone through some cruel wars and their lives are far from perfect, but that makes them even more believable.

And the dark creature that’s awakening is simply perfectly crafted. It’s not something that will be thrown straight at you, it’s something that awaits in the shadows for a perfect moment to attack. And it will attack, of that you might be sure.

I loved the creativity of the author. The world seems like a parallel universe to ours – similar yet has many differences. The idea of wizards being another race, some kind of aliens is very curious and original.

The finale was really good. The last 15% of the book is filled with action and tension. It won’t let you put the book down for a minute! All the heroes take part in the final action, each of them important, each of them with their special skills and abilities. They will show you what they can do. Will they survive? Read it to find out.

Would I recommend this book? Yes! It’s a damn good story, well written and very creative. Oh, and it’s set in Japan :).

TV-Kitty-icon2Curious about the author? Check my interview here.
Do you like some creepy stories once in a while?
How does your imagination deal with them?

3 thoughts on “Alien wizards and bug-like monsters? Sign me in!

  1. Howdy! This blog post couldn’t be written much better!
    Looking through this post reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He constantly kept talking about this. I’ll forward this article to him.
    Pretty sure he will have a great read. I appreciate you for sharing!

    Like

  2. Howdy, i read your blog from time to time and i own a similar
    one and i was just curious if you get a lot of
    spam feedback? If so how do you stop it, any plugin or anything you can advise?
    I get so much lately it’s driving me mad
    so any assistance is very much appreciated.

    Like

What's on your mind?

