Funny Friday – cats and devils

Cats and devils… sometimes I think it’s one and the same. My cat is kind of crazy, he can be all pet-me-now at one minute and I’ll-kill-you the next. Lucky that after so many years I’ve learned to recognize this little change in his eyes just before he’s going to strike :P.

Today I’ve got two books – one rather new graphic novel (that I was supposed to review at least two months ago) and one that I’ve read a few years ago because the author always makes me laugh.

The Misadventures of Grumpy CatThe Misadventures of Grumpy Cat (and Pokey!)
authors: Ben McCool, Royal McGraw, Elliott Serrano, Ben Fisher, Steve Uy, Ken Haeser, Tavis Maiden, Agnes Garbowska

My rating: star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-half-full-iconstar-empty-icon

Goodreads | Amazon

I received this books from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. 

I was really surprised to see that Grumpy got her own graphic novel. Oh yes, Grumpy’s a girl. I admit I didn’t know that before. It might’ve been noted somewhere among all these funny meme’s, but who reads all these comments anyway ;).

This comic is actually a set of stories about Grumpy and Pokey. Pokey, being the enthusiastic and energetic young spirit that comes up with all the crazy and not always smart ideas for the new adventures, and Grumpy – the reasonable and pessimistic part of the story with her usual “self” just as the internet imagined her to be.

Their adventures vary from the treasure search to crime-fighting cat-… vigilantes. It might not be especially imaginative, but it will surely make you laugh for so many reasons – the situations, the parodies, the sarcasm and the misfortunes. Totally worth it! Pretty much every page has something to laugh at.

The Misadventures of Grumpy Cat 1 The Misadventures of Grumpy Cat The Misadventures of Grumpy Cat 2

The Devil's DiaryThe Devil’s Diary by Paul Kater

My rating: star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-empty-icon

Goodreads | Amazon

How much would you like to know what devil’s life looks like? Is the Hell just what you imagined it would be? What happens to the atheists and what is the new religion just came to live and they need their kind of hell?

Here’s the book that will answer some of these questions and it will do it with a solid dose of humor.

Before “Devil’s Diary” I’ve read several of Paul Kater’s books about a certain wicked with named Hilda [oh, these stories will come back in Funny Friday] and when I’ve seen this one coming up I just had to read it. Oh, I’d love to tell you what’s this book about, but I’m sure it would spoil the fun. Check it out, see what the devil’s up to and how his every day looks like. After all running Hell can’t be that hard right? It’s probably just fun and torture. But are you sure about that?

I loved the world shown here. The world where hell and heaven are just piece of land with certain conditions [so you believe you’ll burn forever in hell and dance around singing angels in heaven? Here’s your room!]. The devil is pretty much an understaffed CEO that needs to deal with all the issues [Oh, the lava heating system is broken? We’re working on it already!]. And then there are these annoying angels and their issues…

Happy Friday!

8 thoughts on “Funny Friday – cats and devils

  1. Pingback: Top 5 Wednesday – Favorite Posts – Magic of books

  2. I wanted to thank you for this good read!! I definitely loved every bit of it.
    I’ve got you saved as a favorite to check out new stuff
    you

    Like

What's on your mind?

