Top 5 Wednesday – Halloween Recommendations!

imgresTime for some Halloween reads!

Who am I kidding, I don’t do seasonal reads. I simply read on what I want and have no matter the time of the year. Besides I don’t read much of the creepy and scary books. The three first places – these were BBC dramatizations that I listened at some point. These three were really well made and really creeped me out. I bet the books are just as good.

So… sorry for not giving you full books for these first three spots, but I hope you’ll like my choices anyway.

5

Anubis by Wolfgang Hohlbei – let’s start with something light here. It was written by a German author and as far I’ve seen it doesn’t have English translation yet.

This is a story about a team of archaeologists who find a strange burial place and a set of tunnels that don’t fit with this region’s religions. In fact it seems to be connected to ancient Egypt. And it seems not everything in there is dead…

4

Sphere by Michael Crichton – I think this one wasn’t that scary, but I liked how author played with characters’ minds.

I loved how author showed all the images and events surrounding the mysterious sphere. How the depth and the closed spaces messed up with our heroes minds. How the things they can (or at least think they can) do after the contact with Sphere made them behave. Pretty good sci-fi thriller.

3

The Woman in Black by Susan Hill – yes, the book with a creepy woman and an unsuspecting man. It’s well written, as scary as you want it to be with well thought through characters, strange town filled with people having secrets and perfectly creepy old house. And I even liked the movie 😉

2

The Willows by Algernon Blackwood – let me start with the author here because with this name he’s bound to write either horror stories or filled with magic fantasy books. Preferably both.

And the story! Wow that really freaked me out. Yes it is just a story about some guys swimming to an island. Island has some willow trees that seem to be rather nasty at night…

1

Concrete Island by J.G. Ballard – if you fancy yourself a kind of dystopian story where a man seems to be trapped on a concrete island. This place messes up with his mind and makes him rethink his current situation and his whole life.

Yes, it is a psychological thriller. Pretty good one. Try it 🙂

TV-Kitty-icon2

What would you recommend for a Halloween read??

Have you read any of the books I’ve mentioned?

8 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – Halloween Recommendations!

  1. Sphere sounds very intriguing, I think I will check it out! 🙂 I loved the film of The Woman in Black – I am planning on reading the book one day, and there is a stage play version on in London which sounds amazing, I really want to see it! Concrete Island is on my wishlist, I’d completely forgotten about it, but now really want to read it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have read the Woman in Black. It was pretty good, but I think I ruined it for myself by seeing the movie adaptation first.

    You might try Bird Box by Josh Malerman. Its a quick read.

    I primarily read science fiction and horror (hence the name) so it was too easy for me to list 5 scary books for halloween. I went with 5 zombie novel series. lol. My Top 5

    Liked by 1 person

          1. Well, see…. I’m a complete wimp, but I *revel* in it. I LOVE to be creeped out. I will quite happily watch something like the Ring at 9 p.m. at night, only to turn all the lights on in the house, take the battery out of my phone, and eyeball the TV with distrust until I I zonk out.

            Liked by 1 person

What's on your mind?