BBC Thursday – 25th of August

BBC_Radio_logoWelcome back to BBC Thursday. After two weeks without drama’s, I’m very tempted to list up all that I’m going to listen to you. But I think I can stop myself… just a bit…

Unfortunately, my lack of posts shortened the amount of days left for these titles to stay online, but I hope it’s not a problem.

1. Night Watch by Terry Pratchett

Captain Sam Vimes confronts his past in a rather direct manner. Stars Ben Onwukwe and Philip Jackson.

BBC Episode 1Episode 2 | Episode 3 | Episode 4 | Episode 5 | Goodreads

Day left: 11
Duration: 30 min | 5 episodes aired weekly on Saturday
Rating: ★★★★★

Do I still need to introduce Pratchett to anyone? Yes, the books are fantastic and yes, the drama’s are also pretty good. I think I’ve heard this one twice already. So worth it if you have no time for the full book.

2. The Thirteen Hallows (The Scarifyers) by Simon Barnard and Paul Morris

When a haunted chess set causes consternation at the British Chess Championships, and a horse magically materialises in Kettering Agricultural Museum, MI:13 are called to investigate.

Harry Crow and Professor Dunning follow the trail of inexplicable happenings to South Wales, and an unlikely plot to resurrect Britain’s greatest-ever hero.

BBC Episode 1 | Episode 2 | Episode 3 | Episode 4 | Goodreads

Day left: 11
Duration: 30 min | 4 episodes aired weekly on Sunday

Yet another Scarifiers tale on BBC! I’ve listened to five of these already and I liked them all.

3. The Destruction Factor by James Follett

Ralph Exon – working for an international fertiliser corporation – has created a new strain of plant: a mutation which he hopes will bring relief to the famine-ridden countries of the world.

It’s an innocent-looking plant. But in that plant, known as the Exon strain, there also lurks the Destruction Factor…

BBC Episode 1Episode 2 | Episode 3 | Episode 4 | Episode 5 | Episode 6 | Goodreads

Day left: 26
Duration: 30 min | 6 episodes
Rating: ★★★★☆

Yet another of Follett’s stories, one that was first broadcasted in 1978 and been online several times since. I have to admit I’m yet to be disappointed in his drama’s. They always promise you a good story with interesting characters.

Bonus round this week

There are two more drama’s I’d like to share with you, but I’m going to write about them next week. Today I’ll just share the links for those of you who’ll want to listen:

Happy listening!

2 thoughts on “BBC Thursday – 25th of August

What's on your mind?

