Funny Friday – chocolate, wizards and monsters

OK, I admit, I missed one book last time, when I was choosing my next stories, so instead of a radio drama, you’ll get a set of fantastic storied about one amazing character.

I’ve made a list now, so there will be no more  book skipping :D. Although I might need to add a book or two as the time goes by.

This time, I own one of the books I’m going to present you. It’s not a special edition, but it is a book I treasure 🙂

Bane chronicles

The Bane Chronicles

As you can see my Polish edition’s cover is pretty much as close to the original as it can be :). I love it. After all, it has Bane on it, so what’s not to love? Any other concept would be a waste of perfectly good cover ;).

Why do I think it’s funny? Well, have you read it? If you had you’d knew, if you haven’t – you should :P. Yes, I’m totally a Bane fan but I guess you figured it out by now.

These stories vary in time and support characters. Bane is pretty much the only constant you’ll get. He’s funny, strong, intelligent, vain and full of surprises. He’ll take you to the dangerous jungle and to modern America.  The stories are imaginative and very entertaining.

Bane Chronicles shelf

Camp midnight

Camp midnightCamp Midnight is a funny graphic novel that every kid who ever went camping will enjoy. I wrote a review of the story a while ago – you can check it out by clicking on the cover.

The story, the characters, the idea – it will all make you laugh. The story is a completely reversed version of what you might be used to. In your standard story, you might get one “monster” trying to fit in with all the “normal” kids, trying to hide his/hers weirdness. This one is just the opposite.

If you haven’t checked it out yet – try it. Or maybe you have a kid in a “camping” age who will like it?

Charlie and the chocolate factory

Charlie and the Chocolate FactoryAnd here’s one book I’ve read after seeing the movie. Well, two movies actually. And as much as I like Burton, I have to admit I like the older movie just a bit more, although they both have their charm.

But let’s get back to the book. I’ve actually listened to an audiobook of this one. It wasn’t maybe the best audiobook there is, but it was still enjoyable. Dahl has quite an imagination! He’s characters are lively and ridiculous. All the bad traits are exaggerated and being laughed at. The good ones are rewarded in the end. It’s one of the best books for kids out there!

~~~~

Next week I’ll have the promised dramatization and one Polish fantasy comedy. The only thing they have in common is the fact they’ll make you laugh.

What's on your mind?