Top 5 Wednesday: Books You Want to Finally Read in 2017

imgresToday I’ll present my list a bit differently because I’ve chosen these books straight from my shelves, so I actually have a photo for you ;). And why these five? Well, they were bothering me for a while now. Well, two and a half of them I bought this year, but they were on my to-read list for way longer. You might wonder where did the “half” come from but the answer is very simple – the Polish edition of “Blue moon rising” is in two volumes and I owned the first one for a few years now :). There’s no particular order but I’ve listed them as they are at the photo 😛

20161207_211946

Isn’t it annoying when this one book has a title written in the wrong direction…

1001 Nights with Shahrazad

I finally found this lovely and supposedly uncensored version (whatever that means in the case of this book). Can’t wait to dive into it.

Wild Cards edited by George R.R. Martin

And here’s something I bought because of a graphic novel and because of the big name :D. He’s not the author, but there seem to be quite many interesting tales in there.

Largo Winch by Jean Van Hamme 

Aaaand that one… it’s been ages since I’ve watched this TV-show. I would gladly watch it again, but I can’t find it anywhere :/. But I found two volumes of a novel. And yes, I know it was a graphic novel originally, but I don’t really care 😛

Blue Moon Rising by Simon R. Green

I might’ve mentioned that one already… more than once. And I want to read it more and more. And I might actually make it happen next year. Maybe… Or maybe I’ll listen to an audiobook since it’s on Playster 😛

Through the Looking-Glass by Lewis Carroll

Yes, I admit I still haven’t read that one, even though I have the two-books-in-one edition. I guess I just wasn’t that big of a fan of the first story, but with all the retelling, movies and everything that is tight to this story, I simply need to read it.

~~~~

Together it’s about 2 500 pages to read, which technically I could do in a month, but I doubt I’ll make a marathon out of these 🙂

TV-Kitty-icon2Which books are you planning to read in 2017?

8 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books You Want to Finally Read in 2017

  1. 1001 nights is a great choice, I’ve seen adaptations of the stories but would like to actually read a version of it. That said, I think I’ll have to work my way through the original Grimm’s fairy tales collection I bought before I try to tackle another book of tales. I also wonder what uncensored means… perhaps it was sanitised over time for children and they’ve gone back to more adult originals?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ooooh the Grimms 😀
      I think I made halfway through them by now, still plenty to go 🙂

      I’m also curious about this “uncensored” part 😀 Maybe it does have some spicy bits 😛 or maybe some bloody ones. I’ll let you know!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t read any of these.
    I have to go through my books and make a list of ones I haven’t read on my shelf. I haven’t thought of 2017… I’m still trying to get through December, lol. And all the books I chose to read in December happen to be the first book of a trilogy or series. I didn’t realize that when I committed myself to them!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I haven’t read any of your picks. Have to admit coming close to picking up Martin’s Wild Card anthology, but I’m not familiar enough with that series to know if it would be a good fit for my reading tastes.

    Liked by 1 person

What's on your mind?

