Two weeks of free audio books had gone by…

Yes, it’s already been two weeks and I haven’t even listened to half of the books I want, even though I’m rather happy with my progress. I don’t think I’ll gather myself to write full reviews of these books, but I think I could write few sentences about them.

Dark Matter by Blake Crouch star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-empty-icon

dark-matterA curious book that I was afraid to pick up because of all the fans out there that would kick my ass if I didn’t like it :P. Well… probably not, but you know how it is, right?

Anyway, It was very good. I loved the idea and this story had plenty of thrilling moments, parts that made me wonder “what if” that I simply can’t ignore it. So why not five stars? Maybe it was the writing style? Maybe the events annoyed me a bit a few times, but I can still say this book is worth reading and I could recommend it to sci-fi fans and to those who ever wondered what might’ve happened.

Mogworld by Yahtzee Croshaw star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-empty-iconstar-empty-icon

MogworldYet another book of Croshaw that I wanted to read pretty much since I finished “Jam”.

It was fun, I definitely had some good laugh reading this and I loved the idea of showing the NPC’s point of view. An unwilling NPC who doesn’t know where the hell he is and what’s going on. The descriptions of fighting players were also fun to read :D. I could totally see many of my game characters in similar situations.

Unfortunately, Mogworld wasn’t that good. Entertaining – yes, and interesting for all the gamers out there, especially to those playing MMO’s, but “Jam” was way better.

Nevernight by Jay Kristoff star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-icon

nevernightA story by one of two authors of Illuminae and one that I did not get from NetGalley :P. Pity, but as you can see I found my way to read it.

It was dark, bloody and fantastic. I really want to read the second part, the sooner the better. I liked the plot, the characters, the shadow, the myths, the world… well, I liked pretty much everything about it. Except for the age of characters that I had to be reminded of because this story could easily be written with characters years older and it might’ve worked even better. But I loved it anyway and I will recommend it. Oh, and don’t expect to find Illuminae here. I have a feeling that Jay mostly wrote AIDAN’s part :P.


Queen of Hearts by Colleen Oakes star-full-iconstar-full-icon
star-empty-iconstar-empty-icon

queen-of-heartsThat was a disappointing read. I know, I’ve seen the reviews, but I still couldn’t resist trying and now I know why people weren’t thrilled about it.

It wasn’t so bad, but it just wasn’t interesting enough. The story concentrates on Dinah – the future Queen of Hearts. She’s pretty much a kid now and she does behave like one. Pretending to be strong, Dinah’s so afraid of her father that she can’t do a reasonable thing when he’s close by. Add to that a bit of madness that slowly takes her over and annoyingly pretty and fragile half-sister and Dinah feels the crown is slipping out of her hands.

All the interesting action happened closer to the end of the book and I was already bored enough, so it didn’t help at all. Enough said It’s unlikely that I’ll pick up the next volume.

Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-icon

sleeping-giantsAnd something I’ve finished about three hours ago and it was AWESOME! It’s written as a set of reports, which kind of reminded me of Illuminae, but that’s where the similarities end.

The closer I got to the end, the more I thought of Stargate, especially the Atlantis due to several things: the “ancient” civilization leftovers, the aliens the pretty much left us here, the “chosen” ones that could operate the alien technology… you get my drift, right? Since I really like Stargate I couldn’t react badly to this book. And there’s this alien-mystery thing. The author gave only bits and pieces of it, revealed just enough and never too much.

Plus it’s brilliantly written. And the unnamed guy who manipulates everyone and everything was brilliant. I’ve got a love-hate feeling toward him. He’s such a horrible and amazing person.

I need the next book! And it will be at least 5 more months until the release date :/

Listening to now:

A Natural History of Dragons by Marie Brennan – which is not very interesting for now (I’ve listened to 7 chapters), plus for some reason, I’m very annoyed by the way the society treats women, even though I’m perfectly aware that’s how it used to be.

Doctor Who: 12 Doctors 12 Stories by various authors – many things can be expected of anthologies, but if you’re dealing with the Doctor it should be exciting, right? I sure hope so :).

What's on your mind?

