Sometimes you simply can’t go on

There comes the time when you simply have to give up on some books. These two I’m going to mention beat me, I simply couldn’t go on and here are the reasons why. Both of these are graphic novels, so I even looked the books through to see how it will all end, how will the action follow. I can’t say I’ve lost much without reading them thoroughly.

I received both of these books from the publisher via NetGalley.

Terminal Hero The death and life of Rory FletcherTerminal Hero: The death and life of Rory Fletcher by Peter Milligan, Piotr Kowalski

Goodreads link

I’m really sad I didn’t like this one especially since on of the authors is of Polish origins.

What did I like about this story? Well, not much. The beginning was good enough, even if not original. The guy who’s going to die get’s a chance to live, but he gets some superpowers he can’t fully control. Not only that, but he goes totally mental. Government or some secret agency are trying to use him, but he escapes and tries to live a normal life for a while. Unfortunately, the experimental medicine that “cured” him was used on other two people who rather like to wraith havoc. Continue reading “Sometimes you simply can’t go on”

BBC Thursday – 25th of February

BBC_Radio_logo

I’ve got some nice voices for you this week. Some you might miss, some you might like. Add to that interesting stories and you’ll have a good set of radio dramas to listen. This week though I’ve got only the reads that I haven’t really tried myself yet, but they sound interesting and I do intend listening to them.

 

1. Hood

England, 1201: King John reigns and Phillip De Nicholay, Sheriff of Nottingham, is in trouble. The treasury is empty, looted by his former friend; his position and hopes of marrying the Lady Marion are in danger. His only hope is to recover the money. To do that though, he’ll need the help of the notorious outlaws of Sherwood Forest. Phillip is about to learn that his actions will be the making of the man they will come to call Robin Hood.

 

BBC Episode 1 | Episode 2 | Episode 3 | Episode 4 – coming soon

Day left: 18
Duration: 75 min | 4 episodes aired weekly on Sunday

I haven’t started listening to this one yet, but it’s on my list because I do like Robin Hood stories :). Continue reading “BBC Thursday – 25th of February”