Sometimes you simply can’t go on

There comes the time when you simply have to give up on some books. These two I’m going to mention beat me, I simply couldn’t go on and here are the reasons why. Both of these are graphic novels, so I even looked the books through to see how it will all end, how will the action follow. I can’t say I’ve lost much without reading them thoroughly.

I received both of these books from the publisher via NetGalley.

Terminal Hero The death and life of Rory FletcherTerminal Hero: The death and life of Rory Fletcher by Peter Milligan, Piotr Kowalski

Goodreads link

I’m really sad I didn’t like this one especially since on of the authors is of Polish origins.

What did I like about this story? Well, not much. The beginning was good enough, even if not original. The guy who’s going to die get’s a chance to live, but he gets some superpowers he can’t fully control. Not only that, but he goes totally mental. Government or some secret agency are trying to use him, but he escapes and tries to live a normal life for a while. Unfortunately, the experimental medicine that “cured” him was used on other two people who rather like to wraith havoc.

The action moves fast, sometimes a bit too fast and you get lost where you are, who the main character is, how the hell the others find him and why did he came back.

What I disliked?

  • All the gore – there’s too much needless bloodshed. I don’t really mind a bit of gore here and there (I’m a gamer and I do like criminal TV shows :P), but I can’t stand when the main character that you’re supposed to identify with goes on a killing spree.
  • The main character and his stupidity – I couldn’t stand him, I know he was desperate at first and took this damn treatment, but he made so many stupid decisions.
  • The graphic – I was disappointed with the graphic here, sometimes it was hard to recognize who are you dealing with and that’s never good in a graphic novel.

Final thoughts: Leave it be, it has a few good traits, but there are plenty better stories out there.

 

The Last FallThe Last Fall by Tom Waltz, Casey Maloney

Goodreads link

The second story for today was a bit better, but not enough to make me finish it.

What did I like about this story? I’m sure there was something… The graphic was colorful, but sometimes too colorful. It was war after all and yet everything was in such a bright colors, everyone had it’s own armor (which actually helped to distinguish them). The plot was OK, but not very imaginative. A classic betrayal and come back to taste the glory and destroy the culprits. Predictable.

What I disliked?

  • Yet again I have to say – the main character. He was annoying, but a bit better than Fletcher from Terminal Hero.
  • The time jumps – there were many of these and they weren’t marked in any way.

Final thoughts: Just like the previous story – leave it be. I’d rather spend my time reading something more original with a better story flow.

4 thoughts on “Sometimes you simply can’t go on

What's on your mind?

