What happened in January – monthly summary

Oh, look! January is over. Admit it, you already forgot about your yearly goals :P. Well, maybe not yet, I still have some of them in mind.

Anyway, considering that only the cold bothered me this month I’m quite satisfied with it. And since I know some people had some nasty time this month – I wish you all the best for the rest of the year!

The bookish statistics

  • new-known-januaryFinished 9 stories: 1 ebook, 4 paper books, 4 graphic novels, together 2365 pages.
  • Average rating: 3.89
  • Books bought: 8 which still makes my bought-to-read ratio positive, but only slightly.
  • I’m fixing my new to known authors ratio. And by fixing I mean I’ve read more books by the authors I already knew and liked before. Will see if I can hold it till the rest of the year. My goal is to make it more or less equal amount.

Sooo there goes my “buy fewer books” goal, right? But I still have 11 more months to make the balance right and those Gaiman book covers are amazing!

In other news:

  • I’ve read one of the books I had on my to-read list for 2017 – “Largo Winch” and it’s the second volume too :).
  • And one of the “winter reads” I had on my list – “Harry Potter
  • I’m quietly hoping the coldest days are behind us because I really have enough of cold, snowless weather.
  • I finished one of my models:bsg-viper-mk-7I’ve started another one, but I don’t think it will be finished anytime soon :P. Instead, my friend and I worked on a gift model and I have to say sailing boats are WAY harder to assemble than those cute sci-fi ships. Luckily we managed to finish on time ;P.
  • risen-3-titan-lords-1280x720My current gaming obsession: Risen 3. I’m on a good path of finishing it!
    If you ever played this series you should know it’s good :D. I liked the first game (which I kind of started playing again too) and this one is way better.
    And if you never played it, but you know Gothic games – this one is pretty much the same quality as it was made by the same company :P. So yeah, it’s good!
  • I suffer from lack of RPG sessions… it seems no one has time or will to play lately :/
  • I almost forgot, look at my awesome rhino slippers:

rhino-slippers

Favorite book of the month

idz-i-czekaj-mrozowGo, await the frost by Marta Krajewska
I might’ve already written it was great! When it will finally be published in English you’ll be able to read it and know what I felt :).

It’s fantastic that I was able to make a brand new addition to my “Favorites” shelf so early in the year :).

Biggest disappointment

le-groupe-w-largo-winchCyclope by Jean Van Hamme
It wasn’t that bad, but it was rather disappointing comparing to the TV show I remember from my childhood. I was expecting way more action and less history and there are those prolonged parts filled with characters stories written in a less than fascinating way.

All the other stories I’ve read:

As usual – from worst to best and links (click on covers) lead either to my reviews or to Goodreads page.

mer la-cyclope      le-groupe-w-largo-winch      love-dinosaur freeks-cover witcher-house-of-glass      another-castle-grimoire harry-potter-and-the-chamber-of-secrets idz-i-czekaj-mrozow

Five-star reads:

None this month, 4,5 star at most, but one of those did end up as my favorite 🙂 and it was a pleasure to re-read Harry Potter.

Currently reading / listening to:

I still have Hero on my “currently-reading” list, even though I haven’t opened it for a while :/.

hero time-share gemina

Working on reviews:

I intend to write a joined review for the Largo Winch books and one extra for Mer. I don’t know if it will be a full one because I didn’t like this story much, but maybe that’s even a better reason to review it? We shall see :).

le-groupe-w-largo-winch la-cyclope mer

Thank you all!

7 thoughts on “What happened in January – monthly summary

  1. rashthedoctor

    That model space ship looks amazing , Those slippers … well I don’t know fashion so can’t comment . Btw I didn’t know there were books about Witcher 😱

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 🙂 thanks, it took me a while to paint it but I like it. I still have a LOT to learn though.
      As for the slippers – I really don’t care about the fashion ;-). They are cute, comfy and warm and they are perfect for the winter days. And sometimes I can use them to bother my cat 😉

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Oh, almost forgot about the witcher. .. well it all started with books so of course they exist ;-). This graphic novel is something different as it was inspired on games not the other way around, but I have to say they did a good job with it.
      If you haven’t read Witcher books you definitely should try. Especially the short stories, but the saga is also good.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I finished reading Gemini today and I have the same feeling. It was good but Illuminae was better. Maybe because Gemini followed pretty much the same pattern.
      Still, I can’t wait for the next volume 😉

      Liked by 1 person

What's on your mind?

