BBC Thursday – 2nd of February


Hello, my dead Radio addicts! I know today’s post comes out a bit late, but I wanted to prepare this little graphic you can see here and surprisingly I couldn’t do that at work :P. Maybe I should change switch departments after all, but it looks like I have waaaay too little experience with actual DTP work. Let’s face it, my skills are totally basic and limited to Photoshop ;).

Anyway, on today’s playlist, I’ve got for you two crime/mystery dramatizations – one that I’ve already listened to and one that… well, I haven’t listened to this story, but there were others by this rather interesting author.

1. Monk’s Hood (Chronicles of Brother Cadfael #3) by Ellis Peters

The year is 1138, and Brother Cadfael, herbalist of Shrewsbury Abbey, is asked to supply a healing potion for a sick monk – but monk’s hood oil can kill as well as cure….

BBC Episode 1 | Episode 2 | Episode 3 | Episode 4 | Episode 5 | Goodreads

Day left: 20
Duration: 30 min | 5 episodes

Enjoyable and satisfying mystery set in 1138, so not your usual crime novel setting. And the BBC adaptation is rather well made, so in all, it’s thoroughly enjoyable.

2. Lord Edgware Dies (Hercule Poirot #9) by Agatha Christie

At a nightclub, Belgian sleuth, Hercule Poirot and Captain Hastings meet the elegant Lady Edgware who has a surprising personal request…

BBC Episode 1 | Episode 2 | Episode 3 | Episode 4 | Episode 5 | Goodreads

Day left: 27
Duration: 30 min | 5 episodes

And here’s another adaptation of Agatha Christie’s novel! Well, I admit I prefer Miss Marple stories, but Poirot is also a fascinating character and I can’t resist listening to these adaptations.

Happy listening!

2 thoughts on “BBC Thursday – 2nd of February

  1. Yesterday afternoon, I found myself listening to a ‘Saint’ story by Leslie Charteris on Radio 4 Extra, and I’ve also listened to four episodes of the third ‘Journey Into Space’ adventure on the BBC iplayer. What is it about radio that’s so attractive?
    BTW – have read both above serials as novels.

    Liked by 1 person

What's on your mind?

