Dwarves and dinosaurs – two unlikely graphic novels you might like

It’s another Monday! The last one this month, so it shouldn’t be too bad, right? Well, mine isn’t bad, so I’m quite satisfied :D.

Today I’ve got for you two graphic novels I’ve read… let’s say within last month. Both have something that I found different and maybe a bit unusual. Brigada’s specialty is the curious graphic style – forget about your usually lovely-looking elves, meet a bunch of dwarves on a mission. And “Love: The Dinosaur” is yet another of the wordless novels that prove you don’t need text to understand the meaning.

I received both of these novels from the publishers via Netgalley in exchange for honest reviews. 

brigadaBrigada by Enrique Fernández

star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-half-full-iconstar-empty-icon Goodreads | Amazon

A rather enjoyable story that gets better and better with every page. I admit I needed a moment to get used to this graphic, but I really like it. It’s original and feels fresh among all those other look-alike graphics out there.

And the story? Well, I admit it was a bit chaotic at times, but in the end, I think it worked out fine. Basically, we’re following Ivro and his brigade of misfits on a sort of quest. There are several jumps between characters showing different parts of events and different points of view and even though this makes the story and out view of it more complete, I think this was the reason for the chaos. Maybe if the authors concentrated on the dwarves it would be a bit easier to follow.

Once again I have to say that the graphic made up for the bits of chaos. I liked the color pattern, the character design and the uniqueness of it all. Quite pleasurable to look at, even if it might require some getting used to.

love-dinosaurLove: The Dinosaur (Love #4) by Frédéric Brrémaud, Federico Bertolucci

star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-empty-icon Goodreads | Amazon

And here’s another volume of “Love” graphic novels that show you adventures and lives of a chosen animal. Instead of a currently living one, like it was in previous volumes, here we’ll follow a dinosaur trying to survive.

If you remember my review of the 3rd volume, you’ll know this is a completely wordless story. Everything is told through rather lovely drawn images with all these fantastic, prehistoric creatures and environment. It looks great! There few extra pages with some lovely illustrations and sketches of various dinosaurs.

But, I have to admit when it goes to the story I preferred the previous volume about a lion. Somehow the little dino hasn’t awakened so many feelings in me. It was interesting, but rather as an adventure and not what the title might’ve suggested. Unless it’s about the love of safety.

Still, I think it’s a fascinating series and the graphics are lovely, so I’d be happy to check out further volumes.

2 thoughts on “Dwarves and dinosaurs – two unlikely graphic novels you might like

    1. I like graphic novels from time to time, I find them kind of relaxing and exciting at the same time. There’s so much a simple image can tell you, add to that a bit of text and the magic happens 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

What's on your mind?

