Lovely graphic, but how’s the story?

Hello people! I know this will be something I don’t talk much about, mostly because I don’t read as many mangas as I’d like to, but today is the day! Here are few titles I’ve started reading last year (and maybe a bit before that) and I’d like to write just a few words about each of them. Check it out and maybe you’ll be able to give me some recommendations on what I should pick up next?

devils-and-realistDevils and Realist, Vol. 1 by Madoka Takadono, Utako Yukihiro

star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-half-full-iconstar-empty-icon Goodreads | Amazon

Curious to the point, but in the end, I wasn’t impressed. I did like the style, but I had an issue with all but one bad “guys” looking way too girly. I don’t mind seeing this from time to time, it can be rather enjoyable, but if even the characters notice that it must be kind of weird.
To sum it up: fun, but I won’t be reading the whole series.

tokyo-ghoulTokyo Ghoul, Vol. 1 by Sui Ishida, Joe Yamazaki

star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-half-full-icon Goodreads | Amazon

Now that’s an interesting story and characters. I really liked pretty much everything about this one and Vol 2 is also quite good. I need to borrow other parts from my friend. Or buy them myself as I’d like to know where will the story go. Maybe I’ll even watch the anime, I heard it’s also good.

servamp Servamp, Vol. 1 by Strike Tanaka

star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-half-full-iconstar-empty-iconstar-empty-icon Goodreads | Amazon

It was an interesting idea and the graphic is rather nice, but it simply annoyed me and I lost interest rather fast. I can’t say I’m interested in reading more of the series, but I’d love to have Kuro plushie or a real Kuro-kitten, just without the changing.

laughing-in-a-cloudy-sky-1Laughing in a Cloudy Sky, Vol 1 by Karakara Kemuri

star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-half-full-icon Goodreads | Amazon

And my favorite of the bunch, the only one that made me buy the whole series soon after reading Vol 1. It has interesting (and cute) characters, a curious storyline that was only partially revealed in the first part and I really want to read it all. This one I will recommend!

And now it’s time I pick up the one manga I got from NetGalley – Bizenghast. It’s a pretty long volume (over 500 pages), but it’s nothing comparing to same-sized book ;).

TV-Kitty-icon2Maybe you can give me some manga recommendations?
Something cute and interesting, maybe with some action and supernatural?
Or just let me know what are your favorite titles!

13 thoughts on “Lovely graphic, but how’s the story?

  1. Pingback: Blog Round-Up: January 2017 – Rachel Poli

  2. Helen

    I love Claymore, it’s the only manga I’ve read to the end. And I’m also a fan of Sailor Moon, but that’s very teenage and one people seem to love or hate.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’d recommend Akame ga kill (manga definitely NOT the anime). It just finished in Japan and just… wow.
    Gansta might be a good one if you like hard hitting and graphic scenes and don’t mind the art being rough.

    If you are looking for humor I’ve got to recommend Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun (Something like Monthly Girls’ Nozaki) which is about a high-school aged boy who writes typically girl manga which comes out monthly. Hilarious cast and even the anime is amazing.

    I’m also going to throw out some good classics: Ranma 1/2, Inuyasha, Sailor Moon, & Rurouni Kenshin.

    Arina Tanemura is an manga writer/artist I absolutely love, so I’m recommend you check out some of the shorts they’ve written to see if it is your style.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. fallxnrobin

    “the Tokyo Ghoul anime is rather good” omg who or where did you hear that from? It’s quite a mess in my opinion. The soundtracks and fight scenes are amazing (occasionally I go search for them on YouTube) but everything else was just meh. Now I’m just gonna shamelessly recommend one of my all time favourite mangas, Pandora Hearts, which has gr8 art and though the story starts off slow at first, once it goes in full swing, it’s rather brutal, both in its plot twists and character deaths (I cried at least three times when I re-read it in one sitting). I think it would be good to check out some CLAMP mangas as well. Their art is really nice and flow-y and stuff. I’ve actually only read one of their mangas (Tsubasa Reservoir Chronicles) but it’s really good so the rest of their work should be worth reading as well. They have quite a variety too, from action to supernatural to romance and even magical girls.

    (whoops I get really excited whenever I talk about manga bc it’s like YES LET’S TALK ABOUT MY LOVE. MY LIFE.)

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Really, Tokio ghoul is a mess? Damn, I only heard good things about it. I guess I’ll stay with the manga as long as it will be good anyway.

      I’ve read first volume of Pandora Hearts ages ago and completely forgot about it, I need to finish it!

      And CLAMP is awesome! I’ve read few series thanks to my friend who adores them :)( I think Fai (Fye, or however you spell it in your version because I’ve seen a few) is my favorite, but all these mangas are so ingeniously entwined and filled with great characters (soooo many ships!)

      Like

      1. I do agree that it would be best to stay away from the Tokyo Ghoul anime… first season wasn’t too bad, but the second season I had to stop watching after just the first episode. Pandora Hearts though… be prepared to get your heart ripped out T_T

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I don’t read much manga, but I would love to. I want to read Fruits Basket and Ouran High School Host Club. I’ve seen the anime for both and absolutely loved it. The other manga on my list are all video game related.

    Liked by 1 person

What's on your mind?

