Slavic legends at their finest

I normally wouldn’t do a whole review of a book that’s still only available in Polish, but this one is so good! Not perfect, but very good and I can’t wait for the next part… somewhat because of the ending.

Big thanks to my friend who lent it to me!!!

Idź i czekaj mrozów [When the frost comes] by Marta Krajewska

My rating: star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-icon

Goodreads | Empik PL | Facebook

A land where all of the Slavic myths are alive, where a Wolf Valley is guarded by one person who takes care not only of the inhabitants’ health but also hunts the monsters that come too close. It so happens that the previous Guardian dies and Venda – his student and adopted daughter has to take over.

To make her life worse there are many things changing in the valley, many creatures start living among humans, prophecies from a little girl get more dangerous and a certain wolf-man, last of his kind, happens to be interested in Venda for reasons he only knows.

~~~~

I loved the setting, all these legends coming to life and author did it really well. Now I’m not an expert on Slavic myths, even though I grew up in Poland, but I can tell you this story does them justice.

And to make it clear – it’s not the whole world that’s filled with these creatures. The story concentrates on one valley where people still believe and still experience the magic of myths and influence of old gods. And how we know this? because there’s one person who comes to the Wolf Valley from the outside and at first isn’t convinced these old beliefs are true.

The author has an interesting way to guide us through the events without revealing too much. At some of these pieces of information might seem random, but the further you read the more it all comes together.

And then there’s the romance. It’s not love-at-first-sight. It’s not spontaneous combustion type of feeling. It comes gradually with plenty of feelings in between. It’s beautiful and perfect and it feels so natural and realistic (and magical and fantastic because… well I won’t spoil it).

In short – I loved it all and I want to read the next part.

Oh, and Venda tends to wear a long red cape with a hood and there’s this wolf-man following her 😉 (not a werewolf, that would be a different creature).

~~~~

Sometimes there are those moments in a story when you don’t know whether to cry and read on or rather throw this damned book as hard as you can, preferably at the author.

And then there are other moments when you want to hug the same author.

This book has them both.

And a promise of something… dreadful? hanging in the air.

~~~~

Yet another book that shocked me, left me with a gaping mouth and crying in a train. It’s strange that at these moments my rating for the book instantly goes up :P.

I hope Some of you speak Polish and will be tempted to read this book because it’s worth it.

And for those interested – this book is will be published in US too, so no worries, you’ll have a chance to read it too :D!

21 thoughts on “Slavic legends at their finest

  1. AAW you really make me want to start reading the book like RIGHT NOW ❤
    I just love slavic legends. My dad comes from Croatia and I learned Russian at school, so I learned quite a lot about nature religions of old. I might actually try to read it, but I still wouldn't understand it all. Do you know if they will translate it in any other language? Maybe German?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. aww I used to learn Russian too

      I don’t know about translation, but I’ve noticed it’s more probable that Polish books will be translated to German or Russian rather than English, so if this one will be popular than maybe? I hope it will because more people will be able to read it then 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I actually noticed that if I check the pronounciation that I actually understand the title, so there is hope haha 😀 I put it on my TBR pile on Goodreads. If they didn’t translate it in a few weeks, I might try to read it in Polish with a pronounciation transcript next to the book haha 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  2. rashthedoctor

    Well neither i speak Polish nor I know of any Slavic myth, so safe to say I won’t be reading this 😯

    Meanwhile last week it was Indian myth this time Slavic myth , are you doing some mythological reading goal ? or is it just some coincidence 🤔

    Also red scarf wearing girl … wolf man behind her back … Sounds like red riding hood 🕵

    Liked by 1 person

    1. total coincidence 😀
      I’ve read Railey last year and this book I finished today, but that’s not a bad idea, maybe I should check out some other myth-based books!

      and yup, it totally looked like Red riding hood

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Polish… another language that I’m going to have to (read; want to) learn some day 😀 It sounds really awesome though! And it would be amazing if it would be translated into English 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

What's on your mind?

