Wrapping up long-due reviews

I think I finally realized I won’t write the full reviews of these books especially since more and more time passes and I can’t finish (or even start) writing some of these, so here’s a gathering of some, seemingly random stories I’ve read in 2016. Actually, there will be one, or maybe two more posts like this as I’d like to separate novels, comics and maybe manga because it looks like I’ve got a lot of stories I read and haven’t reviewed at all.

concealedConcealed (Beholder #2) by Christina Bauer

star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-empty-icon
Goodreads | Amazon | Review of book 1
A copy of the book received from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

This is a solid continuation to “Cursed” that I reviewed before. This book has a bit more intrigue and surprises. Even with the steady, almost slow pace, it reads well.

Once again we’re mostly dealing with Elea and Rowan, but there are some new, interesting characters that kind of grab your attention, especially Philipe… he’s… well, I don’t really know what to think about him now, I kind of like him, but at the same time, he’s the type you should rather stay away from. He’s painfully adorable to every woman around him, it seems like he wants to have them all, but he also has a certain amount of trustfulness reserved for few chosen ones. I guess I’ll have to wait for the next book to see how he really is.

The story is creative and nicely crafted. Even though we’re dealing with new villains, the old evil is still hanging over their heads. You can still feel their influence. Overall a good read and if you read the first book you should continue with the series.

golden-appleThe Golden Apple (The Dark Forest #1) by Michelle Diener

star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-empty-iconstar-empty-icon
Goodreads | Amazon

An interesting retelling of a less known fairy tale about a princess on a glass hill. I honestly haven’t read the original, but I did like this story. Well, maybe not the instant love, but it did have it’s charm too. I actually got this one for free, it seems the price came up a bit, but I’d say it’s worth the entertainment.

The book is filled with mystical creatures, fate-bound people, and magic. It has its charm, but it’s not perfect. Still, after finishing it I was tempted to pick up the next volume, but it seems it’s a completely different story with different characters.

Daughter of Smoke & BoneDaughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor

star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-empty-icon
Goodreads | Amazon

After seeing so many great reviews of this book I couldn’t simply walk past it, especially since it takes place in Prague and that’s one of my favorite cities.

The story started off well – the setting was original and mysterious, the characters were great, the writing was fantastic and very atmospheric and then the romance happened. Now I don’t mind a bit of romance, but the further it went the silliest it felt and the whole forbidden love felt weird. I was also kind of disappointed with the ending and I don’t just mean the cliffhanger, more like the whole deal.

But still I had a good time reading and I’m thinking about continuing the series, but maybe in an audio version.

~~~~

That would be it – three reads from the last year that were noticeable.

TV-Kitty-icon2I’m curious, what do you think about this type of short reviews instead of going all out about one book?

I certainly won’t stop posting full reviews, but I might do more of these short ones and I’d love to know what you think about them.

9 thoughts on “Wrapping up long-due reviews

  1. I prefer shorter or bulleted reviews. Easy to read and have all the main points. I was thinking to do these “even shorter than usual” reviews but I like when the theme of the books is the same – for example, all mysteries, or all fantasies and so on. (Or all have blue cover πŸ˜€ )

    Liked by 1 person

What's on your mind?

