The boring, the bad and the dnf’d

Now that I shared with you my favorite books of the year it’s only fair to list some of the books that I found lacking… The good part is I’ve got all of these books for free one way or another, so no money lost at least ;). Maybe I should split them by source… Oh, and yet again, there’s no specific order, these are simply all the books bellow 2,5 stars and some DNF’s

Some of you will have a completely different opinion about these books, but I can’t help it if I don’t like them, so live with it 😉 and feel free to share your thoughts!

The big unknown [Amazon freebies] 

Some of these $0 books look so tempting and it’s so easy to click and upload them to your Kindle. Some of them are even great, but I haven’t found any this year. Instead, I found few really uninteresting stories.

Cappuccinos, Cupcakes, and a Corpse Harper LinCappuccinos, Cupcakes, and a Corpse by Harper Lin
cozy mystery, humor, contemporary

It might’ve been a fun read if the story progressed a bit faster into the mystery area, instead we’ve got two characters apparently trying to hang out and first glimpses of any mystery started at around page 70… DNF.

Death Checks InnDeath Checks Inn by Sara Robbins
cozy mystery, romance, contemporary

Barely 104 pages and yet none of them was fascinating mostly because of the language or rather the style because this story suffered from a hard case of “tell don’t show”.

Review me please [various review copies]

From time to time, there are those books that you’d really like to read, review and help authors spread the news about their stories. Unfortunately, not all of these stories are good.

Paper TigersPaper Tigers by Meredith McClaren
graphic novel, fantasy, adventure

I really wanted to like this story, but so many things bothered me, like the story – too little story and kind of flat graphic -sometimes it was hard to recognize what’s happening.

The City of Wizards

The City of Wizards by George Mazurek
fantasy

Well, the idea behind this story might’ve been good, but it lacked world building, character development, and reasoning. Everything went on too fast and it made me feel like “wtf is happening?”.

Boy-1

Boy-1 by H. S. Tak, Amancay Nahuelpan
graphic novel, sci-fi, action

Graphic novels on NetGalley are a big unknown, especially the ones under “read now” cathegory. This one was full of pointless action, characters that I couldn’t care about and lacking plot.

KaminishiKaminishi by Jan Suzukawa
time travel, romance

It was such a pity that this one didn’t deliver, I liked the idea, but the rest was simply not good, basically it lacked proper plot or at least I was distracted by all the sex scenes which, let’s face it, weren’t so good 😉

Read this! [a gift]

Sometimes you just receive the wrong one, but the intentions were good and it looks good on the shelf 😉

How To Think Like Sherlock

How To Think Like Sherlock by Daniel Smith
self-development?

The idea behind this book was great if only author could actually have some nice tips instead of saying over and over to read Sherlock Holmes novels. After all, I know that already 😛

Read to me [the free audiobooks]

There are few sources you can get your audio books from for free, my main one used to be SYNC, but that also means my only “choice” is to get the free book or ignore it. I admit I’m kind of used to grab it all because I might like to listen to it one day and here are some of the results. Plus one book from Playster that I hoped will be better.

Bone GapBone Gap by Laura Ruby
young adult, contemporary, fantasy

That was simply weird and not in a good way. It bored me and I think it was supposed to be thrilling? Plus the “Polish” language was horribly read and not well written… Google translate much?

Sin eater's daughterThe Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury
young adult, fantasy

It’s the heroine! Or rather lack of, since it’s hard to call this whiny kid that. She was so annoying, the story was predictable, the insta-love-triangle was horribly lame.

ill-give-you-the-sunI’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson
young adult, contemporary, drama

There’s one review on Goodreads that pretty much mirrors my thought about this book, or at least the part that I’ve listened to since I didn’t manage to finish it: “This book should be called I’ll Give You Death by Artistic Metaphor

a-natural-history-of-dragonsA Natural History of Dragons by Marie Brennan
fantasy, memoir, historical

A book about dragons should be interesting, right? Not in this case. It’s written in a style of a memoir and it’s more history than adventure and it’s simply not very interesting. DNF, but with a slight chance of finishing it somewhere in the future.

Do you have a book you’d like to complain about from this year?
Have you read anything horrible, boring or simply not for you?
Have you DNF’d something? Or maybe left “for later”?

8 thoughts on “The boring, the bad and the dnf’d

    1. give it a go, worst case scenario – you won’t like it and you’ll give it away to someone you don’t like either 😛
      best case scenario – you’ll be among majority and love the book 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Was that Boy-1 the first issue or the first volume? I read the first issue and thought it was interesting but didn’t know what to make of it. For me, it’s better when I start with the first volume of a comic. I get a better idea of the story that way.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh well then that sucks that it was disappointing. Kinda put me off reading it. My interest in it wasn’t very strong to begin with and since comics are pricey, I’d rather not invest in one without much plot.

        Liked by 1 person

What's on your mind?

