Audio Thursday 15th of December

Another Thursday and another week closer to Christmas :D. And surprisingly, I haven’t heard “Last Christmas” playing yet… strange. No matter, it will be going through my head now anyway.

But I was going to write a bit about my last audio finds – the books from Playster and the BBC dramas I’ll be listening to soon.

A Natural History of Dragons by Marie Brennan – DNF at ~40%

a-natural-history-of-dragonsI really hoped this one will be good, or interesting or maybe exciting, but the truth is it wasn’t. The idea was great – memoirs of a woman learning about dragons, tracking them, documenting her story. But I have few issues with this book.

First of all, and I know it’s historically correct, but it’s still mighty annoying – the way Isabella (and other women) was treated in this Victorian environment and the way she behaved toward other sometimes too.

Then there was this kind of dry, unfascinating way of describing dragons, the hunt, the search. My heart didn’t even jump when she got kidnapped!

But, I have to admit I did like her as a character – she’s interesting, strong-witted woman who has a hard time containing her excitement. And I did enjoy her “scientific” way of describing her findings.

Doctor Who: 12 Doctors 12 Stories star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-empty-icon

Overall it’s an interesting set of stories good for every Doctor Who fan. There are some good ones here, some rather bad and some that you’ll soon forget.

12-doctors-12-stories

A Big Hand For The Doctor by Eoin Colfer  3
The Nameless City by Michael Scott  4.5

The Spear of Destiny by Marcus Sedgwick  4  a nice idea with the spear and a cameo from the Master.

The Roots of Evil by Philip Reeve  4.5

Tip of the Tongue by Patrick Ness  1.5  I heard many good things about Ness, but this story was so boring and disappointing.

Something Borrowed by Richelle Mead  3  
Spore by Alex Scarrow  3

The Beast of Babylon by Charlie Higson  4  It did have my first Doctor, so I was so much into this story :). I liked mentionings of Rose, all the feeling in this story. And the Beast was interesting too ;P

The Mystery of the Haunted Cottage by Derek Landy  5  Extra points for a nice impression of the 10th Doctor, but even without this the story was great, so it’s pretty much 6 stars out of 5 😛

Nothing O’Clock by Neil Gaiman  5  I loved this one! Gaiman shows his awesomeness again 😛

Lights Out by Holly Black  2  I have a feeling the 12th Doctor is way more interesting than his portrait in this story. It didn’t help that it was told from a POV of some random weird guy. This story had a potential, but in overall I didn’t like it.

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-icon

ready-player-oneThat was fantastic! Easily my favorite book of the month, especially since it was ready by none other but Wil Wheaton! It was hilarious in few moments because of that – when the character references Star Trek or even Wil himself.

All these nerdy references, old games, books, and music – if you grew up in the 80’s this book is for you :D. And the story itself is great and exciting! I didn’t know this kind of story can be so… Fascinating (I totally used Spock’s voice for that). Simply the best ;).

Listening to now:

This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab – barely started this one, so no comments yet. Well… maybe that the narrator isn’t exactly what I like, but I hope the story is good.

BBC dramatizations

Terror in the South Seas by Robert Louis Stevenson

David Tennant stars as Wiltshire, a trader freshly arrived on a Samoan Island. He marries a native girl, only to find himself tabooed by the rest of the inhabitants.

Part 1 | Part 2 | Days left: 25 | 2 parts, 1-hour each

There are two people that will make mi listen to this one – Stevenson and Tennant :). The first one, because his adventures are pretty great, even if the language is… well, let’s say it’s not really exciting. And the second – do I really need to explain?

Small Gods by Terry Pratchett

Set in a complex State of beliefs, Great God Om appears before a novice monk

There are gods everywhere on Discworld – you can’t swing a simian librarian without hitting one – except, of course, only a few people can see them. Each small god lies in wait, desperately seeking to make someone believe in him. On Discworld, gods need people more than people need gods, for belief is the food of the gods.

Part 1 | Part 2 | Part 3 | Part 4 | Days left: 27 | parts, 0,5-hour each

And another obvious drama on my list as I can’t skip a Pratchett story when it shows up on BBC :). Each of the ones I’ve listened to by now was good, so I think I won’t be disappointed, right?

What's on your mind?

