BBC Thursday 24th of November

BBC_Radio_logoI’m back with few interesting stories you might want to listen. You might already know them, but maybe it’s an occasion to remind yourself what happened, listen to some nice adaptations and British accents :).  We’ve got one short continuation of a certain Gaiman story and two classics.

1. How the Marquis Got his Coat Back by Neil Gaiman

The Marquis de Carabas has been having a rather stressful time of it. Being killed by the villainous duo Vandemar and Croup, having his body sold by the sewer people, and brought back to life with the aid of Old Bailey is enough to test the endurance of most people. But as if that isn’t bad enough, the Marquis has lost his coat. It’s not just any old coat. It is mysterious and unique and makes him the man he is. And he wants it back.

BBC LinkGoodreads

Day left: 10
Duration: 45 min | 1 episodes

I had no idea this story existed until yesterday when I was checking out some new, curious dramas. I love Neverwhere and Marquis is such an interesting character. I’m sure listening to this one within the next few days :).

2. The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde

“I would give my soul to stay young”.

A vain aristocrat – a gilded and spoilt hedonist – makes a dangerous pact to preserve his youth.

BBC Episode 1 | Episode 2 | Goodreads

Day left: 20
Duration: 60 min | 2 episodes

Barely two-hour adaptation of a fantastic classic that’s on my list of must-read-on-paper books because audio version just didn’t do it justice. And I don’t mean adaptation, I’ve started listening to the unabridged book a few years ago, but it’s simply not that kind of book. This one feels like it’s something you need to hold and concentrate on, savor the words because Wilde sure knew how to write.

3. Kidnapped by Robert Louis Stevenson 

In 1751 – in the aftermath of the Jacobite rebellions – young David Balfour, a staunch supporter of George II,
is newly orphaned and goes in search of his father’s family near Edinburgh. When he is press-ganged on board
a ship bound for the slave plantations of America, he forges an unlikely alliance with the charismatic Highlander, Alan Breck.

BBC Episode 1 | Episode 2 | Goodreads

Day left: 26
Duration: 60 min | 2 episodes

Now Stevenson is among these writers that I admire for their imagination, but I find their style hard to read. I’ve listened to an unabridged recording of this book and it took me a while to go through it. It is a good story, but it’s kind of like Dracula – fascinating, but not easy to read. This dramatization is nicely made and rather pleasant to listen.

Curiosity: Introduction is narrated by David Tennant!

~~~~

Since I’m writing this a bit late for a certain Doctor Who episode, I’ll just mention it here. There are 4 more days left to listen to Hornets’ Nest – a 10-part series, 5 hours of listening, and you can find it here: Episode 1.

Happy listening!

2 thoughts on “BBC Thursday 24th of November

  1. I don’t know this Gaiman story but I read one of his shorts the other day, entitled The Case of the Four and Twenty Blackbirds, a send-up of Raymond Chandler, I think.
    I thought it was hilarious.

    Liked by 1 person

What's on your mind?

