Are you hungry for some Doctor Who stories?

You’d think as a Doctor Who fan I’d read tons of books by now, right? Wrong. I did read some graphic novels, but no actual book. Till now. Well… I was actually under impression that it will be a graphic novel since it was categorized as such on NetGalley.

doctor-who-the-american-adventuresDoctor Who: The American Adventures
by Justin Richards

My rating: star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-empty-iconstar-empty-icon

Goodreads | Amazon

I received a copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

If you ever wondered what would happen if the Doctor landed in America, here are few stories that could show you just that.

All That Glitters   ★★☆☆☆

For a start, we’ve got a wild wild west story about a man possessed, an alien wanting more than he should and a seemingly-random hero who saves the day.

That was a rather weak opening for this story set. The plot was fine, but it felt like you could just switch the Doctor for any other character and it would work anyway. I do like wild wild west setting and I was rather hoping for something more interesting.

Off the Trail   ★★☆☆

A family snatched from the trail, trying to find a way home. The Doctor trying to help them and prevent a possible invasion.

A bit better story than the first one. It definitely had a more Doctor Who feel to it, plus a proper type of mysterious setting. But still, a bit of a let down when it goes to the ending. It felt like the ending was rushed, like the villain was rather weak and not very smart.

Ghosts of New York   ★★

That’s more like it! I really liked this one. It has ghosts, it has a potentially good companion and a mysterious, hidden spaceship. Even though it still ended up a bit too quick, I liked that idea, the atmosphere, the setting and I’d love to see it as one of the actual Doctor Who episodes.

Taking the Plunge   ★★

An amusement park and life-sucking aliens? Yes please!

Yes, that was also an interesting story – good setting and interesting plot. But the best part was that the Doctor actually showed his trickery there. The bits of diplomacy, the calm attitude and the final solution. Loved it! Yes, that would also make a nice Doctor Who episode.

Spectator Sport   ★★

A pretty visual battle of New Orlean’s setting, alien visitors that came to watch it and a problem…

Well… we’re back to two stars. Why? Because of the ending. It started off well, it had a potential, a good idea for a story, but for some strange reason it ended up abruptly and without solving all the problems. We don’t know why the assassin was there, what was his purpose, who was paying him… well maybe I’m the only one who’d like to know these things, but it just felt like the story was missing a huge part of it all.

Base of Operations   ★★★☆☆

You are at war, about to infiltrate the enemy forces, but are you sure your men are what they seem?

A rather good closing story with a fine plot and the Doctor behaving like he should – a protector of Earth. And the “normal” people were actually able to help, so that’s a step forward ;). I liked this one. Good ending. Well… yea, let’s call it a good ending.

~~~~

All in all, it is a nice set of short adventures, but I think I was expecting something more. First of all, something I have to admit and beg you not to tie me up to a chair because I will finally get to the 12th Doctor episodes… I haven’t seen him in TV-show, so I don’t really know how he is like, and these stories didn’t really show it. If I haven’t seen the cover, I would’ve wondered “which one was it supposed to be?”.

Also, I missed a bit more of Doctor-Companion cooperation. The only story that involved a potential companion was the “Ghosts of New York” and I really liked that. That’s kind of the point of Doctor Who isn’t it? We all love this double-hearted alien, but he’s way better with another person to support him.

On the other hand, since these were rather easy to read, maybe they would be great stories for a younger audience? A nice introduction to the Doctor? I have a feeling I’d love this if I were younger and haven’t seen/read/listened to Doctor Who stories before.

If you really like Doctor who and want something fast to read, check it out. Since the stories aren’t connected, you don’t need to worry you’ll miss something by reading in a wrong order or skipping a story.

TV-Kitty-icon2Now tell me, which Doctor is your favorite?
Have you read any Doctor Who books or graphic novels?
Who was your favorite Companion?

2 thoughts on “Are you hungry for some Doctor Who stories?

  1. I am a great Doctor Who fan but only of the TV show. I even have the very first episode on disc. Scheduled by the BBC to go out on Saturday 23rd November 1963, it was overshadowed by the news of the assassination of John F Kennedy the previous evening.
    And yes, I think the Doctor is nothing without his companion. There have been some wonderful Doctors but I think David Tennant was the best, partly due to the actor’s talent but also because he had the advantage of some of the best script writing the show has seen.
    Best companion? That’s hard – but possibly Catherine Tate as Donna Noble.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so jealous about your disc… It’s almost impossible to get the old Doctor Who shows in here. The newer ones show up from time to time.

      Oh, Donna 😀
      She’s fantastic. I loved her in the first one-shot she showed up in and was hoping for more. Some time later I received my wish :D.

      I loved Tennant, I even was in a “I’m not going to like the 11th” mood when he went away. I changed my mind after only one episode :D. They are all great.
      And I loved the first Doctor, he was fantastic and… well.. the first.

      Liked by 1 person

What's on your mind?

