What happened in October [Monthly summary]

This month’s summary not only comes a few days later than usual, but it will also be rather short as autumn grabbed a hold on me and my laziness went sky-high.

The bookish statistics

  • Finished a shameful 13 stories: 1 novel, 1 graphic novel, 11 mangas, together 2966 pages.
  • Average rating: 4.6 which again doesn’t mean much with all the 5-star Naruto books. I just can’t rate them differently!

In other news:

  • Have I mentioned being lazy? So not much in this section for now :). I hope I’ll have something better next time.
  • I love playing D&D as a monk! They are freaking awesome! Although, I do miss spells on my list and running straight to an enemy is not really my style. But it’s still lots of fun.
  • And no, my warlock haven’t died, she’s still being her evil self and having fun with it :P.
  • A certain manga shop had a promo… so I got more manga to read 😀
  • I have tons of unread posts from you guys… I probably won’t manage to read them all, but don’t be surprised to see some movement on your month-old posts ;P
  • My last days of October were spent mostly playing AC VI: Syndicate which is surprisingly better than Unity, but don’t expect a particular storyline – there is one, but it’s both chaotic (lost among all the sidequests) and very vague. Still, the game has some fun elements that make the series enjoyable again, like Evie and zip line!

Favorite book of the month

warship-jolly-roger-book-1-no-turning-backOther than Naruto, I have to give a shout-out to Warship Jolly Roger.

When I picked it up I honestly didn’t think I’d like it so much, but it was great!. I almost gave it 5-stars (well, I did on GR) but I think there’s still a bit space for improvement. Anyway, this is one of the “I really need to write a review” type of stories, so right now I’ll just tell you it’s filled with action, interesting characters and more and more alluring plot.

Biggest disappointment

I think it’s the first time I have to leave this section empty. With the few books I’ve read in October none was really bad or disappointing. But I do have one from yesterday 😛 – you’ll find out about it soon enough.

All the other stories I’ve read:

As usual – from worst to best and links (click on covers) lead either to my reviews or to Goodreads page.

servamp 51tojveoml devils-and-realist warship-jolly-roger-book-1-no-turning-back

Five-star reads:

naruto-29

I’ve experimented with two mangas and these are two series I won’t be continuing. Servamp kind of annoyed me and I wasn’t much into the characters and the story. Graphic’s cute, but that’s not all you need in mangas. Devils & realist has some potential, but not enough to keep me reading and definitely not enough to make me buy the next volume. It was entertaining enough for a one-time read way too many guys looked like rather lovely girls. I might be used to some of that, but this manga went all-out with the girly-boys.

Currently reading / listening to:

The Name of the Wind concealed strange-magic wynonna-earp-volume-1-homecoming

Yes, I did not finish The Name of the Wind… shame on me! But I need to finish at least three other books soon, so it will have to wait… staring at me from my bedside table when I’m sleeping. Maybe I should put it somewhere else…

Concealed is the second part of the series I’ve already read, so I couldn’t resist the offer to read it :). I’m about halfway through and I like it more than the first book.

If you like Dresden files then Strange magic is something you should at least have a look at. I found it on NetGalley, clicked the request and started reading a sample pretty much the same day. After few chapters, I couldn’t wait for the approval to come through and bought the first part :P. The next three books came from NetGalley, so expect these reviews sooner or later.

And from graphic novels I’ve got Wynonna Earp – a western-like story with zombies and other nasties. Love the feel of the story and Wynonna is a great heroine!

Working on reviews:

Remember some of the books from last months I’ve listed here? Some of these reviews are still on my to-do list, but who cares, let’s add some more :P.

warship-jolly-roger-book-1-no-turning-back dresden-files-wild-card disney-manga-tim-burtons-nightmare-before-christmas

Well… I still have few reviews to write… some overdue reviews. I’m working on it. Or at least I’m trying to think about working on it :P. It might take a while.

As an excuse – it’s freaking autumn! The weather is nasty, it’s dark, it’s rainy and I have no motivation to do anything. I hate it.

Thank you all!

6 thoughts on “What happened in October [Monthly summary]

What's on your mind?

