Zombies and unexpected deaths

“Rise of the Chosen” is a fantastic story that pulls you into the world ravaged by the Lifeblood. It’s an original tale with vivid characters, surprising plot twists and a refreshing take at zombie-like creatures who aren’t always the blood-thirsty beasts you’re used to.

Rise of the ChosenRise of the Chosen by Anna Kopp

My rating: star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-icon

Goodreads | Amazon | Author’s blog

I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. 

Goodreads blurb (since I won’t put it better):

In Sam’s world there are two rules. Rule #1: Nobody dies. Protect the living at all costs. Rule #2: Everybody dies. At least once.

The Waking was a global event in which a force called the Lifeblood invaded all humans who died. The few strong enough to control it came back as powerful immortals. The rest let the bloodlust take over and awoke with one goal – to kill.

Newly appointed Watch Guard Samantha Shields has a legacy to uphold. Her father died a hero defending their city and now she wants to follow in his footsteps. Except for the dying part, of course. Unfortunately, fate has other plans as she discovers deep dark secrets that make her choose between her loyalties and the lives of everyone in her city. Both rules are in play as Sam is forced to make hard decisions that could cost her everything – including the person she cares about most.

Ooooh I’ve got one thing to say about this book: I love it! The story’s awesome!

But seriously, I love the writing style. At first, I thought the introduction with all the definitions wouldn’t work, but they fitted in perfectly because they clearly stated what is what and how the situation looks like. The story read much better with me knowing what the author had in mind while using a certain word.

It all felt refreshing. You might think it’s just another zombie-like, postapocalyptic story, but it’s different. The world is in order, everyone has their place and it’s clear they’re not the only survivors. After all, they have to keep the situation at bay to stay alive because, contrary to “normal” zombie plague, everyone who dies can become a dangerous bloodthirsty beast… or a chosen.

Tha characters are believable and realistic. They have their good and bad traits, problems and hopes for the future. Sam is a great heroine – strong, but not without issues. I did like her progressing relationship with Lena and how she dealt with the waking.

Overall it was a great read that I could recommend it do anyone who likes dystopian, young adult or zombie stories. I had a great time reading it and I wish there was a continuation. It’s a good standalone, but I’m selfish and I’d like to read more ;).

Big thanks to Anna who allowed me to read her story! I loved it 😀 I hope you’ll write some more.

TV-Kitty-icon2Do you like zombie stories? Have a good one to recommend me? I’m normally avoiding these, but I could read a really good one. 

4 thoughts on “Zombies and unexpected deaths

  1. rashthedoctor

    sounds good , i haven’t read many Zombie books and your review really makes a case for this book , will look for it at a local bookstore 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

What's on your mind?

