Sand magic, split world and new story to follow

white-sandWhite Sand (White Sand #1) by Brandon Sanderson, Rik Hoskin, Julius M. Gopez

My rating: star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-empty-icon

Goodreads | Amazon

I received a copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

The story starts with Kenton – a young, stubborn man who needs to prove his father and himself that he deserves a proper rank among Sand Masters. With his weak sand-mastery and a rather unusual fighting skills, he’s throwing himself to a trial, that only strongly-gifted are supposed to survive.

Even though it’s supposed to be the whole volume, it felt more like an introduction to the world, the characters, the situation. The first meeting of certain people that will make a mark further in the story, everyone with their own goals and distinct personalities. There’s still plenty going on – the trials Kenton goes through, the attack on his homeland, seeing the city, and more of the barbarians. Full of action with some breaks that slowly reveal the plot and character’s reasoning and goals. Overall – nicely done, but I want more :D.

white-sand-preview-1 white-sand-preview-2

And what about graphic? – I loved it! The colors (they aren’t limited to these shown on the pages above), the panel setting, the dynamic. I loved this new world – split into two parts, seemingly apart, but somehow coexisting. The curious magic system, the aggressive barbarians from the Dayside and technologically superior Darksiders – all nicely shown with just enough space for your imagination to fill in the gaps.

Yet another graphic novel I’d gladly add to my library in a shiny hardcover version.

This novel was my first meeting with Sanderson’s writing. Maybe it wasn’t the perfect first impression, but I still enjoyed it quite a bit. And if you’re wondering why I haven’t read his books yet – it’s the volume! and the fanbase. And the amount of them. It’s just so… overwhelming. But since I finally reached for Rothfuss’s story, I might just make another step into these wonderful fantasy worlds.

To sum it up this was graphically stunning, an interesting introduction to the world and main characters. I’ll gladly reach for the next volume and see what will happen next. Right now I have some questions and I hope they will be answered in the next parts.

TV-Kitty-icon2What were your impressions of Brandon Sanderson’s writing? No matter which story you’ve read, just convince me I should (or maybe shouldn’t) read it 🙂

4 thoughts on “Sand magic, split world and new story to follow

What's on your mind?

