Beware the cuteness

I thought after yesterday’s horror stories I’ll give you something cute and cuddly [and yet without penguins] to sort of keep the balance ;).

lightLight by Rob Cham

My rating: star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-icon

Goodreads | Amazon | Author’s page

I received this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

“Light” is a lovely adventure story about a little guy who journeys to find these little crystals his map shows. There will be monsters, friendship, unexpected meetings and a journey. Sort of like Hobbit, but cuter and with fewer dwarves ;). Just kidding here.

Let me just tell you one thing: this book is freaking ADORABLE! I loved every bit of it. From the very first pages that just begged to end up as a coloring book.

light-1

light-2

Through the first bursts of color until the loveliest ending you could think of.

You might’ve noticed the lack of text on the pictures and indeed it’s another wordless graphic story and yet I was so immersed in this adventure I was so sorry it was over. It’s like with one of those series you get so attached to and when it’s done you don’t know what to do with yourself. I felt the same with this one. Lovely! And cute. And heart-warming. I want to hug this book right now [which is not easy since it’s on my PC…]

TV-Kitty-icon2Have you seen this adorable story already?
What are your thoughts about these wordless graphic novels?

Ok, I had to add this little bit – I was very curious about the artist and checked his page for any info about the continuation of the story and he indeed created one, it’s called “Lost” and I felt it was a bit unfinished and rather strange, so I’d say – end your reading on “Light” and enjoy the cuteness!

6 thoughts on “Beware the cuteness

  1. Pingback: What happened in September [Monthly summary] – Magic of books

  2. Aww, I love wordless picture books. Done right, they can be incredibly expressive and immersive. Like Shaun Tan’s The Arrival. This one looks pretty adorable. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

What's on your mind?

