Interesting and refreshing superhero story

Interesting and refreshing – a story of a superhero that would surprise you, make you laugh and definitely keep you entertained. It has superpowers, mystery, and a classic secret identity :).

faithHollywood & Vine (Faith issue #1-2)
by Jody Houser

My review: star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-half-full-iconstar-empty-icon

Goodreads | Amazon

I received this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Since NetGalley offered only two issues [half of the first volume] I can’t tell you if the whole thing is fantastic and exceptional, or if it’s simply a nice graphic novel. What I can tell you is that it surely picked my interest and I really enjoyed reading these two chapters.

Faith is a superhero, she used to be a part of the team, but now she decided she wants to go solo. And why not? After all crime’s everywhere and even one superhero will make a difference. She moved to the City of Angels, created her “classic” undercover character and started working in her day job. Why classic? I’ll give you a hint – it deals with writing.

As you can see from the very first pages Faith might not look like a superhero, but she doesn’t care! She’s awesome just the way she is.

Obviously, the novel is not about her everyday life, but rather about an unfolding mystery of disappearing people. People with superpowers that might’ve become heroes one day. Unluckily for them, someone doesn’t like that and wants to eliminate them. Now Faith will have to find them and kick their butts.

As in graphic novels, there are plenty of dialogs to read, but authors included just as much of Faith’s thoughts! That is just perfect since it helps to clear the situation, shows her though process and in some cases – brings a bit of humor!

So did I enjoy reading this? Yes! Do I plan to continue? At least with the first volume – yes, I want to know how it ends and I really want to know what happens after the end of the second issue! And I really liked the graphic, I’d love to add this novel to my shelves.

TV-Kitty-icon2Have you read Faith? Did you like it?
Have you read any other fun graphic novels lately?

9 thoughts on “Interesting and refreshing superhero story

  1. They never DO look like superheroes, do they? And of course the cover job has to do with writing. 🙂
    Maybe you can guess – I’ve been watching some of the ‘Supergirl’ TV series on disc.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. rashthedoctor

    i so wanted to read Faith when they released it , but my local comic book store doesn’t keep Valiant comics , meanwhile the amazon prices aren’t cheap , i’ll definitely be buying it by next month though , brilliant review

    Liked by 1 person

What's on your mind?

