Romance, strange planet and survival

These Broken StarsThese Broken Stars (Starbound #1)
by Amie Kaufman, Meagan Spooner

My rating:star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-half-full-icon

Goodreads | Amazon

I might’ve mentioned some of my initial thoughts on my monthly summary post, so I’ll just put a reasonable shortcut here since I think they’re kind of fitting 😉

The book that was started as a random and bought pretty much due to the cover (and some fantastic reviews) almost fell off my TBR shelf after the first chapter. Not that I didn’t like it, but it had two things that bother me. First – it concentrates on romance. Second – it was love at first sight. Plus there’s this forbidden love factor, but it’s not always so bad and most of the time I don’t mind.

What kept me reading? After the first chapter – only that I was too far and yet too close to home to start another one. And second – magical writing of Amy Kaufman. She caught me with “Illuminae” and now she got me on this one. And yes, I know she’s a co-writer, but since both of these stories got me I’m blaming her ;).

After the third chapter, I was already hooked!

Both main characters are fantastic! Lilac starts off as a posh, rich girl, luckily most of it is just a pose that she needs to keep in the society. It soon turns out she’s got some skills a girl of her status shouldn’t and that her stubbornness can have some good uses.

Tarver is a decorated soldier, even though he’s still very young he’s trained to survive and protect the innocent and he does intend to do just that when they crash on the unknown planet.

Well, that was quite a ride. I did not see that coming. I have to admit – I really enjoyed this book and I want more! Well, by now I actually read “This Night So Dark” so I guess I had a bit more, but you know what I mean, right?

Anyway, is this a romance? Yes, it is, but it’s not your usual lovey-dovey cutesy tale. It’s a sci-fi novel about two people trying to survive. And if they’ll fall in love on the way? Why not? Well, actually it was a hard case of love at first sight, but you can get over that when you’ll read the rest of the story. It’s a lovely-written page-turner with some surprising moments. I have to agree with all the good reviews that this book is worth reading and worth all the good ratings. Imaginative, original and romantic. Lovely. It won’t let you get bored, in fact – I had a hard time putting the book down.

W ramionach gwiazdAnd let’s not forget the cover – it’s gorgeous!

I’d love to add it to my paper books :). Pity, they kind of broke the Polish edition using a different font, maybe someone thought it’s just a minor change, but it breaks the look and I don’t like it. Plus, as usual, the translation is kind of strange.

This Night So DarkThis Night So Dark (Starbound #1.5)
by Amie Kaufman, Meagan Spooner

My rating: star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-empty-icon

Goodreads | Amazon

As an addition, I’ve got this short review – if you’re curious how Tarver got his medal that’s the thing for you. Triggered by some dreams and Lilac’s questions here’s what happened on the planet

Triggered by some dreams and Lilac’s questions here’s the story of a certain research base, betrayal, and survival.

It was great! Short, but very enjoyable and it showed a bit of a background to the research done by LaRoux’s company. It looks like Tarver stumbled upon this information even before the ship crash, but there was no way he could’ve known what will happen to him.

Once again the combined efforts of Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner created something great and enjoyable. 

TV-Kitty-icon2Have you read these stories? What were your thoughts? How about the next book in series, should I try it out too?

What's on your mind?

