My unusual reads in August

This month seemed to a month of experimental reads. Mostly due to SYNC. After my vacations were over and I wanted to make up for the hours without books I’ve started reading and listening like crazy (well, for me anyway). I finished some of the books I was “reading”, I’ve listened to some of the SYNC audiobooks, read few shorter and longer stories that were waiting for review for ages. Right now I’m hoping to finish “Bone Gap” (also audio) which I also wouldn’t pick up if not for SYNC [btw… the narrator has no idea how to read Polish and I have a feeling the author had a very little idea either… it’s almost as bad as watching the last X-Men movie. Almost].

Anyway, I just wanted to point out my odd reads and give a short summary of my thought about them :).

OnceOnce by Morris Gleitzman

A war story about a Jewish boy who ventures to find his parents.

At first, Felix annoyed me, his naivety was horrible, but let’s face it – he’s just a child.

I don’t like was stories. Wars are horrible and since I’m Polish, all the history lessons had left their mark. This one was even harder since it’s told from a perspective of a Jewish child. An innocent who’s pretty much doomed. And yet he manages to remain hopeful and optimistic and with a vivid imagination.

Buddha BoyBuddha Boy by Kathe Koja

A tale about a strange boy transferred to a new school, about an unlikely friendship and bullying.

Oh yes, a realistic tale with a hard topic – another type of books I avoid. I use books as an escape from reality, an opportunity to visit new worlds and not to crush into a tough reality.

Maybe this book is just like many others, but it is a well-told story worth checking out. It shows the strengths and weaknesses of schoolkids. It helps to realize some of the reasons behind the bullies’ thinking. If they’re thinking at all. And it shows that if you have a will, you can change yourself.

The Omnivore's DilemmaThe Omnivore’s Dilemma by Michael Pollan

How about a book that will help you realize what you’re actually putting into your mouth?

I’d love to say that this one left an impression on me and maybe a few fragments really did, but as a whole, it felt too American. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t think it’s bad. After the author is American and he wrote about his research and experiences. But I felt like some of these things don’t apply, even if they actually do.

Anyway, I think it was a good read and it indeed helped me to look differently at some of the food I’m eating.

How To Think Like SherlockHow To Think Like Sherlock by Daniel Smith

That book was a gift and it really seemed a great idea when I got it. Well, who doesn’t like an improvement book once in a while right? Right? [crickets…]

Well, the author should really think about the title. This one is totally misleading. It should rather be “A brief study of Sherlock Holmes and his methods. With tons of quotes”. One thing is certain – the author did his reading. Each chapter starts with a quite and there are tons of quotes all over the book. Quotes from all of the books and stories about sherlock. Have I mentioned there were quotes?

Other than that there were few tips and tricks that might help you become Sherlock, one of them saying you should read all the books to learn it, sooo… pretty much a fanboy writing a short book about his favorite character and adding some quizzes to make it into a self-improvement book.

Avatar A Confidential Report on the Biological and Social History of PandoraAvatar: A Confidential Report on the Biological and Social History of Pandora
by Dirk Mathison, Maria Wilhelm

If you’re a fan of “Avatar” movie this is definitely something for you. It has all the extra information about this fantastic world you might need. Including pictures :).

I can’t say I’ve read it all – I went through the book and checked out whatever I found interesting. And there are plenty of interesting things out there. It really shows they took time creating this world, the animals, the plants, the technology.

~~~~

TV-Kitty-icon2That’s all for today. Have you read/listened to any of these? What were your thoughts?

8 thoughts on “My unusual reads in August

  1. I started The Omnivore’s Dilemma several times but it’s too informative to fall asleep to XD. Which is why I listen to audiobooks in the first place. But I’m definitely planning on listening to it during the day when I have the time :3.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. that was the intention 😛

      plus you’d understood if you spoke Polish fluently… the scene when they were killing Magneto’s family – it was tragic and I know that, but the pain of hearing the wrong pronunciation and ungrammatically written dialogs… I didn’t know whether to laugh or cry. It also made me think about other “foreigners” in US movies :/

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I got the Avatar book with the Bluray of the film. These writers have gone to immense trouble to make it seem “real”. Like you, I’ve dipped into it rather than reading it all through. Now that astronomers have discovered a possibly earth-like planet orbiting Proxima Centauri – who knows? Perhaps ‘Pandora’ isn’t as far-fetched as it seems!

    Liked by 1 person

What's on your mind?

