Fantastic continuation and a great cast of characters

Oh gosh, have you read the first book already? You really should’ve because this one is even better!

And yes, it will still leave you shocked and possibly crying.

Heroes and ThievesHeroes or Thieves (Steps of Power #2) by J.J. Sherwood

My rating: star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-icon

Goodreads | Amazon | Author interview

I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

From Goodreads blurb:

War is the action taken to determine who has strength enough to live, and who has strength enough to die. Death can be the gateway to victory, but not all men are brave enough to face this truth.

The world is struggling to survive under the new, ruthless king. The evil necromancer at Saebellus’s command destroy’s potential elven allies.
The sole survivors of the last battle for Savrigel embark to Ryekarayn to stop the necromancer. But they can’t do it themselves, can they? And can their friendship survive?
The king’s beast escapes and even two experienced hunters have trouble killing it. Or maybe him? Is he really just a mindless killing machine?
Alvena – the only witness to king Hairem’s death is caught by Saebellis’s army and brought back to her homeland. Will Ilsevel get her hands on the innocent girl?

These are just some questions that might or might not get answered in the next part of J.J. Sherwood’s fantastic series. One thing is sure – your journey through this book will be adventurous and exciting. You’ll meet fantastic and complex characters. You’ll see wonderful lands. You’ll hope the heroes you came to love won’t die. You might laugh, you will certainly cry, you might get this tingly feeling in your belly when a certain couple gets together. And in the end, the only thing that you’ll feel will be…

doctor who sad

Yes, The Doctor is back.

~~~~

What a world! That fantastic land that J.J. Sherwood created is full of variety, living, breathing people (well, mostly elves obviously but you know what I mean, right?), adventure and magic. Oh, how much magic. I love that!

As it could be expected the second book in Steps of Power series not only follows the old characters but brings a variety of new ones too. Whatever can be said about them one thing is certain – they will never let you get bored. Not even for a moment. Each of them is a living breathing creature that lurks from the pages and takes you with them to join the adventure.

The interactions between Jikun and Navon will never get boring. I do like both of them, but Navon is becoming my favorite. Even with all the reckless things he did I have a feeling he has a good heart after all.

I have no idea what to think of Eldeaus. He seems like a madman, but in the same time, there’s something behind all this madness. I can’t really grasp it, but he definitely isn’t boring. Sometimes I think he’s just a comic relief, but then he does or says something and I’m lost again.

Jerah makes an interesting character, kind of like a child with superpowers. He doesn’t know much about the world, but he could destroy everyone around him easily. I’d really like to know how will his story proceed.

And how I wish someone just snapped that little bitch queen’s neck already! I thought I hated Cersei from Game of Thrones, but Ilsevel is pure evil. I actually think she’s worse than Umbridge! And that’s really quite an achievement.

I still can’t get my hands on Saebellus. Yes, he creeps me out, after all, he does possess some nasty skills and he did destroy Jikun’s army ruthlessly, but somehow he feels like he’s more reasonable than Ilsevel and that some of the things he does are because of her.

~~~~

In my rather awkward review of the first book, I wrote that it reminded me of something between Game of Thrones and Legend of Drizzt. I’m done with that. Now I’ll be comparing other books to this series! Trust me, it’s good, it’s worth it and you really want to read it.

And I want to read the next part! Especially after that ending. At some point in a book you’ll actually start thinking that it might all work out… WRONG! If you’re looking for a flat and comfy read – go somewhere else. This story has more twists and turns than a rollercoaster.

Even Alvena managed to surprised me. Although, I would prefer she didn’t do THAT!

And if you’re expecting a clear and definite ending… Wrong again!
No, it’s not really a cliffhanger. Well, maybe a little. But there are still so many things that need solving, characters that haven’t reached their goals, a certain queen to kill…

If you still wonder if you should pick these books up – GO FOR IT!

And now a bit of a history… 

If you want to know more about the world, just visit the http://www.stepsofpower.com/. You’ll also find some awesome graphics with characters there. 

TV-Kitty-icon2Have you read this series yet? Please tell me you did, or that you’re just going to start like right now 🙂

4 thoughts on “Fantastic continuation and a great cast of characters

  1. Pingback: Monthly summary – August – Magic of books

  2. rashthedoctor

    sounds entertaining and judging by stats on Goodreads massively underrated , will be looking to read them if possible

    Like

What's on your mind?

