Interview with Christopher Keene

ChrisopherKeene3Hello again! I’ve got another interview for you today. This time, the questions went to a freshly baked author and fellow blogger Christopher Keene. Check out his answers!

First of all tell us few words about yourself.

I’m a New Zealander, a university graduate, a geek blogger and an author of science fiction and fantasy novels.

How does your writing process look like, do you have any strange writing habits?

I have different habits for different books. I wrote Stuck in the Game on my blog over a month, mostly on my phone, before going over it and sending it to my friends to read. For the one I’m working on now I’m writing it on paper at night and typing it out on my computer the next morning.

Is the Dream Engine inspired on any existing game?

The game itself was a combination of later RPGs like Final Fantasy, the Tales of Games and MMOs like World of Warcraft with the competitive nature of games like League of Legends. The Dream Engine game system was inspired by the plot tool ‘Brain Dream’ from episode 23 of Cowboy Bebop.

Do you have a method to get rid of writer’s block? Or maybe you haven’t experienced one?

I have experienced writer’s block in the past and I have no sure-fire method of getting rid of it other than moving onto a new project or trying to find a new way to get exited about what you’re writing. My main advice is not to force it, if you don’t enjoy writing your book it’s unlikely your readers will enjoy reading it.

Computer, typewriter or piece of paper – what’s your favorite writing tool?

As I mentioned about my writing process, it differs for different books, at the moment I write on paper and type it out later, this can be a bummer though because you have to go over what you’ve done again. Typing on a computer is my best tool when in the right mood for it.

Can you tell us few words about your favorite writers and books?

I love authors of big fantasy series. Brandon Sanderson (Way of Kings), Joe Abercrombie (The Blade Itself) and Jim Butcher (The Dresden File) are generally my favorites. I also enjoy the odd smaller young adult or sci-fi book on occasion like Ender’s Game or Heroes Die.My latest favorite is Vicious by V.E. Schwab.

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000446_00062]What are your thoughts about book trailers?

I don’t know much about them. I can’t say that I have ever been convinced to read a book by one, but at the same time I wouldn’t be against one being made to sell my book if I was ever offered. Despite the old saying I really do think a good cover is your best bet and spreading it through the internet or by word of mouth.

Are you a gamer? What are your favorite titles or genres? The class you’re usually choosing?

I’m what true gamers might call a “filthy casual” but even then I’m a small fish in a very large pond. I like RPGs and sandbox games, anything that gives a lot of freedom. Going by the classes in my book, I would probably be a Warrior. Presently I’m playing Tales of the Abyss, an older JRPG.

You just got transported back in time, let’s say to your 18th birthday, what would you tell your younger self (and would he listen)?

Nothing, with the butterfly effect who knows what that might do to the current me.

You just caught a genie, what would be your three wishes? 

I only need one: manipulate reality at will. I think that covers about everything.

Can you give us some links to where we can find information about you and your book?

Twitter | Facebook | Fantasy and Anime Blog | Goodreads | Amazon

4 thoughts on “Interview with Christopher Keene

  1. Pingback: Podcast & Blog Interveiws for Stuck in the Game | Fantasy and Anime

  2. Pingback: Podcast & Blog Interveiws for Stuck in the Game | Fantasy and Anime

What's on your mind?

