Top 5 Wednesday – Favorite First Sentences

imgresHi, guys! I know it’s been over a week since my last post, but I thought I’d have a bit more time to write during vacations. Actually, I thought I’ll have any time at all, but, let’s face it, I was too busy relaxing and having fun :P.

Anyway, I hope you liked the interview and today I have just a quick Top 5 Wednesday to get back to writing. Today’s topic is all about the first lines, the thing is I really remember only one first line that I adore and it’s from a short story (it will be at the first place). For the other four places, I had to go through my library (paper only) and check out few of my favorite books.  The thing is, I haven’t found anything fantastic that would blow my mind. There are a few curious ones though, and I’m pretty sure all of the Witcher books have great first lines :D.

5

Nine days. Beneficent God, I beg you, let it be the day I die!

There were few things that made me read “Throne of the Crescent” Moon by Saladin Ahmed and that first line was one of them. In the end, I didn’t find the book as good as some people said it way, but it’s still an enjoyable read.

4

So here’s the file that almost killed me, Director

From “Illuminae” by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman. If you read it, you know it’s great :). Or you’re among the ones that didn’t enjoy it. Well, you’ve got a right to think that, after all, we’re all different and like various things.

3

It all started when my cousin, Tadż, ate the butterflies for the first time.

From the book, I might’ve mentioned a few times already ” Grillbar Galaktyka” by Maja Lidia Kossakowska. I really like this story :D. It’s a bit crazy, a bit sci-fi and somewhat about food. Well, if you’ll find it you should check it out.

2

When talking to youngsters entering service, Aplegatt usually told them that in order to make their living as mounted messangers two things would be necessary: a head of gold and an arse of iron.

‘He won’t ger out of there, I’m telling you,’ the pockered man said, shaking his head with conviction. ‘It’s been an hour and a quarter since he went down. That’s the end of ‘im.’

These are two of the openings from “Witcher” series by Andrzej Sapkowski. I’m not going to put them all here :P. Somehow they sounded better in Polish, but here you are. Maybe the translator couldn’t quite get the language nuances.

1

On the last day of the third world’s third age, a mountain appeared in the sky.

This is the introduction to the short story “Fractured Melody” by Christine Williamson. A curious and strange little story about an unusual event. It might not be a masterpiece, but I enjoyed reading it especially with this kind of opening.

TV-Kitty-icon2How about your favorite first lines?

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – Favorite First Sentences

  1. I mentioned this one elsewhere as one of my favourites: ‘The education bestowed on Flora Poste by her parents had been expensive, athletic and prolonged; and when they died within a few weeks of one another during the annual epidemic of the influenza or Spanish Plague which occurred in her twentieth year, she was discovered to possess every art and grace save that of earning her own living.’ (Cold Comfort Farm)
    But for conciseness I like: ‘It was 7 minutes after midnight.’ (The Curious Incident of the Dog etc)

    Liked by 1 person

What's on your mind?

