What’s in these cupcakes?

How about a cozy mystery combined with cupcake overdose? I’d normally say “YES!” but in this case, it’s more of a “maybe”. In other words – these stories didn’t blow me away. But let’s move on to each of the books. I know this post might be a bit lengthy, but you can always check out only a part of it – the book that catches your eye. But I do hope you’ll at least glimpse at the whole thing :).

Killer Cupcakes Milda HarrisKiller Cupcakes (Celebrity Cupcakes Cozy Mystery #1) by Milda Harris

star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-half-full-iconstar-empty-iconstar-empty-icon
Goodreads | Amazon | 65 pages

A fast short story about a murder in a freshly opened cupcake bakery (I’m guessing they won’t have that many guests after that) in Hollywood.

The good sides of this story: cupcakes and length.
The bad – it wasn’t that fascinating. Entertaining enough for a short time, but not very engaging.

The plot was rather messy and not very interesting or original. The crime was rather easy to solve, but obviously, police didn’t do it because they were apparently too busy keeping an eye on the people in the bakery.

But it sounds I’m only complaining here. The story had some good sides… I just can’t remember what they were at the moment (I should’ve written this review waaay sooner). I definitely liked the light mood and humor of the story. Heroine’s love interest also created some funny situations.

Cappuccinos, Cupcakes, and a Corpse Harper LinCappuccinos, Cupcakes, and a Corpse (Cape Bay Cafe Mystery #1) by Harper Lin

star-full-iconstar-half-full-iconstar-empty-iconstar-empty-iconstar-empty-icon / DNF

Goodreads | Amazon | 286 pages, read about 30%

This book made me think that cozy mysteries should be short. Everything was happening so slow. I really tried to read it, but even the first glimpses of a mystery only begun to show up at about 20%. When I finally put the book down for good heroes only started talking that they might help the police solve the case. With this speed they won;t solve it till the last few pages and then it will be rushed as hell.

Maybe the whole story is good (other interviews say so) but I simply wasn’t in a mood for a slow story.

Other than that the setting seemed nice and the characters certainly had enough book space to develop, so I can see the potential, but it just wasn’t a read for me at that time.

Strawberry Cream Cupcake & MurderStrawberry Cream Cupcake & Murder (A Dana Sweet Cozy Mystery #1) by Ann S. Marie

star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-empty-iconstar-empty-iconstar-empty-icon / DNF

Goodreads | Amazon | 121 pages, read about 20%

My freshest read of these – I’ve started it on my way home and by the time I got out of the train I decided I simply can’t go on. At first, it was going well, it has a nice setting – Canada (btw, the next book I picked up after this is also set in Canada, my mind seems to wander in that direction. It’s not a cozy mystery though, a sci-fi comedy written in journal-like style).

Characters seemed to have some depth and it’s always a nice addition to the shorter reads. But what put me off badly was the grammar! Now I’m not unforgiving if there are very few mistakes in the story I’ll let them pass, but in this case, I simply couldn’t go on. The worst page had at least 6 mistakes! And I’m reading on a Kindle and my font setting isn’t low, so there were not that many sentences there.

That’s that. I wish I could finish the story, but I simply don’t want to waste time on someone else grammar issues when I have my own on the blog :P. Yes, I know I make mistakes too. I was never good with languages, but that’s why I have tools to help me at least a bit.

Killer Cupcakes Leighann DobbsKiller Cupcakes (Lexy Baker Cozy Mystery #1) by Leighann Dobbs

star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-half-full-iconstar-empty-icon

Goodreads | Amazon | 146 pages

This was the best of the three stories. I almost gave it a four-star rating, but somehow I felt it didn’t deserve it. Maybe the author got better with the next book, I’ll check it out and let you know one day.

There’s one thing that really annoyed me with this story – the heroine is one of the high-heels, awesome clothes, perfect makeup type of girls, even when she’s going to work at the bakery the whole day. If you’ve been reading my blog for a while you might’ve figured out I’m rather on a geeky side, so let’s say these two types don’t usually mix too well in real life. Why? I don’t know! I tried, but usually all attempts of finding a common language failed.

But when I got over that and got into the story (which wasn’t bad) I found it rather engaging. Maybe not too complicated, but it had all that’s needed in a nice cozy mystery. A great book to sit on a couch with a cup of tea and preferably a cat and simply relax.

Actually, this story reminded me of some of my favorite cupcake mysteries by D.E. Haggerty. It also had a hot detective and a bunch of old ladies helping out :D, It was kind of fluffy and funny. But Haggerty’s a winner! (reviews of two of her stories linked bellow)

~~~~

Oh, and you know what? These 4 stories are just a fraction of all the “cupcake” cozy mysteries out there. There are two I really liked and wrote reviews of already:

3 more that are waiting on my Kindle (freebies that I caught on promos), well one boxset, one short story and a short book:

  • Annie Graceland Mystery #1-4 by Pamela DuMond
  • Cupid’s Cupcake by Ivy Sinclair
  • Cupcakes vs. Brownies (Zimmah Chronicles #1) by Scott King

And I’ve seen more on Amazon ready to be picked up. I don’t know if I should though, as you can see my average rating isn’t very optimistic.

TV-Kitty-icon2If you read any of these – let me know your thoughts! I’d love to read your opinions. Or maybe you know a good cupcake mystery you could recommend?

3 thoughts on “What’s in these cupcakes?

    1. I’m glad you liked it 🙂
      Yes, I was surprised too. I found these when I was searching for some cozy mysteries to read.
      I bet there are also other themes that repeat, like the thing with daughters: sin eater’s daughter, witch’s daughter, daughter of Cleopatra and many more. I’ve actually wanted to write about these too, but I’ve read only two of these books for now, so maybe in a while 😉

      Liked by 1 person

What's on your mind?

