Funny Friday – end of the worlds and immortal bounty hunters

It’s been two weeks since my last Funny Friday, but for some reason, I couldn’t get into writing. But here we are again with two novels. Yes, only two single books. I thought I’d add one more, but somehow it didn’t fit. It’s not going to be a long post [I think].

Let’s start with a two-author story. Two fantastic authors that made an amazing job writing this book. The one and only…

Good Omens

Terry Pratchett & Neil Gaiman

And try to tell me that book’s no good, I dare you!

The lazy or super busy ones had an occasion to listen to the adaptation of this story on BBC Radio. It was a rather good adaptation, so if you’ll ever have another chance just listen to it.

I’m not going to write a review, mostly because I just found some really nice ones on GR and I feel mine wouldn’t be as good, I mean, check out the first paragraph of this one: Jeremy Zerbe’s Reviews.

Why do I love this book?

  • it’s fantastically written
  • all of the characters are interesting and well developed
  • it has Pratchett’s humor!
  • and angels, and a devil (or rather an ex-snake)
  • heroes decisions matter
  • the freakish prophecy that is not exactly what you’d expect
  • the character names πŸ˜€ – yes, I even appreciate these
  • the ending couldn’t be better and more surprising
  • and plenty of other things that are equally fantastic!

I hope you’ve already figured out I’m recommending this book to pretty much everyone? Well, unless you’re squirmish about religion, then maybe it’s not the best read for you.

And since I haven’t mentioned any cover issues lately, let’s have a look at some of the Good Omens covers:

Good Omens (1) Good Omens (4) Good Omens (2) Good Omens (3)

The most popular cover (on the left) has only one thing I like – fonts. I love how it has these little angel and devil symbols. Other than that I don’t really like it, mostly because of the sitting angel.

The second one isn’t very special-looking, but it’s nice. The book goes well with the prophecy idea, so even if it’s all rather simple it kind of works.

The Polish edition clearly went with Pratchett’s Discworld novels style. I like these editions, but I’m not certain about this cover. It would look good next to the Discworld series, though so maybe it was a good idea?

And the last, but not least – a rather humorous looking cover that shows Earth as a tiny planet, an angel and devil playground. Funny cover, but not really for me.

~~~~

The second book I’d like to remind you about [because I’ve already written a review of it a while ago] is a short and funny story filled with constant “battles” of two immortal individuals, situations I wouldn’t want to find myself in and all with a mythical twist.

From Hell to Breakfast
From Hell to Breakfast
by Cynthia St. Aubin

He’s the immortal gladiator made to be a bounty hunter.
She’s an immortal succubus whose head Hades wants.
They’ve met before… in very hot circumstances.
How will their reunion work out?

It’s a 97-page story, so you can easily read it in one go and I found it rather hard to put down. It’s hilarious, imaginative and has few twists you’ll enjoy. Plus some hot scenes (not very detailed, but it kicks in the imagination), after all, it’s a succubus we’re talking about :D.

If you’re in need for something light and easy that will put you in a good mood – check out this story.

And have lots of fun!

7 thoughts on “Funny Friday – end of the worlds and immortal bounty hunters

  1. Gaiman and Pratchett together = <3. If I didn't know it was a different book, I would've thought the Polish version looked like the one from Harry Potter #2…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve never read Pratchett… I tried, can’t remember the book, but I always thought you’d need to have a certain sense of humor to really enjoy his writing? I remember a roommate from way back and she always laughed her ass off while reading Pratchett… hmm, maybe I need to try again when I’m a bit more mature and can recognize the brilliance πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m just like your roommate πŸ˜€
      always when I’m reading the Discworld novels I laugh
      if you’ll try these – don’t go for the first in series, try Mort or Wyrd sisters or Night watch, or Pyramids… yea, I could go on like that for a while πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

What's on your mind?

