Welcome to the world of imagination!

Today I’ve got for you four stories that made me switch to the child mode :). There are magical, colorful, full of fantastic creatures and have the strong good vs evil factor. Sounds good, right? Well, let’s get to details.

One small warning – since I’ll be writing about the whole series, each next story might start with a spoiler for the previous book. I’ll try to avoid them, but it will be hard.

First of all, I love the covers, you can already see it’s going to be a fantastic journey for children. Just look at them:

Elora of Stone Into Coraira Teagan of Tomorrow Second Twin

Author: Jaime Lee Mann

Goodreads | Amazon

I received these book from the publisher via NetGelley in exchange for an honest review.

I admit I waited way too long to read these stories, even though I had the first three on my kindle for a long time. When the “Second Twin” came out I decided I finally need to read them and here we are.

Sometimes it’s not easy to switch to the kid-mode. Some of the books simply take you int the story and you’ve got nothing to say about it, but in this case, I had to “manually” change my way of thinking. It wasn’t easy because even though these stories are magical they also have this cruel darkness lurking about, ready to grab the unsuspecting reader.

What bothered me was the simple language in which it was written. And maybe the point of view – I never like the all-knowing narrator and it was especially annoying when connected with the dialogs. It felt like it was written for small kids, but I wouldn’t want to read them a story like this simply because they would be too frightened.

Luckily the author improves with each story – language, characters and events get better, more interesting and a bit more complicated.

Elora of Stone  star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-half-full-iconstar-empty-iconstar-empty-icon

The first story is supposed to introduce you to the world, main characters and interest you enough to keep reading the series, right? The thing is there’s just too much introduction and jumping from character to character, going through years so fast that you don’t really care what happened before and when you’re half way though you’re finally getting to the point where the book blurb came in. Seriously, when you’ll check the Goodreads description it pretty much starts half way through the story, which isn’t a big loss, but it’s kind of strange.

After this one, I thought I won’t make it to the next book, especially since the ending might work as final (it’s not, but it would do if needed).

I have mixed feeling about this one – the story was rather slow in the first half and then it flashed through all the events till the end. But I guess I’d like it as a kid.

Into Coraira star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-empty-iconstar-empty-icon

The second story pulls you into the magical realm of Coraira which is way more fun than the simple village and some almost-magical tree. This is when the story really picks up and from now on each book ends with a definite “must continue reading” event.

Yes the POV still annoyed me, but I’ve started getting used to it here and I could enjoy the story more. This time, there’s no half-book introduction, we’re heading straight into the action zone and we’re going to stay there for the next few stories.

Two kids (who finally became the main characters) are reunited and learning their newly acquired skills. But the evil that plans to destroy magic won’t give them much time.

I really like the magic of this new world, it looks like author’s imagination really kicked in in this one.

Teagan of Tomorrow star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-half-full-iconstar-empty-icon

We’ll be moving to time-travel zone now and meeting a new important character – Teagan. Part of this story will take place in our times and I have to admit the twins reaction to our world was quite well described. They were clearly lost here and that’s something that’s usually missing from the stories in which characters move from ar-away-past to present days.

Other than that it looks like even greater evil took over the magical lands and the whole future shaped itself accordingly and our heroes (new and old) have to try saving Coraira and their family and friends.

This was my favorite part of the series. It’s dynamic and it won’t let you loose track on when and where the characters are.

Second Twin star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-empty-iconstar-empty-icon

If you thought you knew all about the characters by now check this story. It shows some of them in a completely different light switching your point of view and telling you not everyone is bad from the beginning and it might not be their own choice.

This time, we’re moving from place to place and between different time periods. It happens so fast that you might get lost if you’ll loose concentration. In theory, each chapter begins with time and location, but at some point, it doesn’t help much.

Still, if you’ll manage to track it all this is a rather good story, a worthy continuation with some new aspects to the character’s past and the world’s future.

~~~~

These stories will surely bring some enjoyment to kids. The author let loose her imagination and it’s clear she gets better and better with each book. I might’ve been a bit rough with my ratings, but I was really annoyed with the narration. I was so relieved that the later parts have more dialog and less all-knowing narrator.

One thought on “Welcome to the world of imagination!

  1. It looks this books can achieve success only among specific kind of audience, but not on a wider scale. I am not familiar with this series, only with your review, yet I believe much could be achieved with switching from all-knowing narrator approach to different views seen through the eyes of different characters. Unortunately all-knowing approach is the most popular especially at young / inexperienced authors, what instantly diminishes their efforts. Thanks for your review!

    Like

What's on your mind?

