The Reading Habits Tag

Look at that a new tag! Well, not new maybe, but I haven’t done it yet. You’ve got to thank Rachel @ https://journalofabibliophile.wordpress.com for tagging me :D. You’re a darling! Be sure to visit her blog!

Some of you might’ve already caught some bits and pieces of my reading habits over time. Like my favorite reading-while-walking oddity :). Here are some other things I prefer and do.

1. Do you have a certain place at home for reading?
Well, I do have my small library room with a chair that isn’t too comfortable [I’ll change that when I’ll have money and when I’ll find the perfect chair], but most of the time when I’m reading at home I’m doing it in my bed.

2. Bookmark or random piece of paper?
Bookmark if I can find one or if all of them aren’t occupied at the moment. I have a tendency to “read” many books at a time and some of them end back up on the shelves with bookmarks inside.

3. Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop after a chapter/ a certain amount of pages?
I can just stop, but I like reading till the end of the page – it’s easier to find the right place when I’m restarting the reading process 😉

4.  Do you eat or drink while reading?
Tea is a must-have. Or any other drink nearby. I can’t go long without drinking something, so I always make sure to have a cup at my arms reach. But food? I don’t mind having a snack sometimes, but I’d rather not occupy my hands – it makes it harder to turn the pages ;).

5. Multitasking: Music or TV while reading?
No. Simply no. I’m getting distracted way too easily. When I’m outside I have an ability to slightly mute the surroundings (depends on how good the book is). Sometimes I need to put on the headphones without the music playing just so make everything a bit more quiet.

6. One book at a time or several at once?
I guess I’ve already answered that :D. I have no problems with reading more than one book. Sometimes the media vary – an audio book, a paperback and an ebook, a graphic novel, but sometimes I simply can’t decide which book to continue and I’m switching between few at the same time. Heck, check the Goodreads bar (It should be on the right or at the bottom), right now I have five books started…

7. Reading at home or everywhere?
Everywhere. Actually, I do most of my reading outside. Home is way too distracting [it has my computer… with games and the Internet].

8. Reading out loud or silently in your head?
Silently. I don’t really like reading out loud. I don’t think I’m good at that…

9. Do you read ahead or even skip pages?
It happens if the book is really bad and yet I want to know the ending. It has to be REALLY bad. I had just one of these this year. I’d rather DNF a book than skip pages, but sometimes I’m desperate.

10. Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?
As long as the book had no hardcover I don’t mind the spine breaking. It might be strange so some of you, but I prefer reading comfort over pretending that the book I’m holding was never read.

 11. Do you write in your books?
No way! Never!
The only books I’ve ever written in were school books that actually had a place to fill in some answers.

 12. Who do you tag?
Since I’m feeling lazy today I’m tagging everyone who wants to do this. It’s a fun tag, so feel free to do so.

TV-Kitty-icon2Do you have any more questions about my reading habits?

7 thoughts on “The Reading Habits Tag

  1. Pingback: The Reading Habits Tag – Owls & Vowels

  2. Pingback: The Reading Habits Tag – Books In Her Eyes

  3. I completely agree with you for number 10. I have a friend who endures the discomfort of reading a paperback that’s only a quarter open for hours, just to protect the precious spine… I couldn’t do it!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: The Reading Habits Tag #amreading #amblogging – D.E. Haggerty

  5. Those computers are SO distracting!! XD I tend to play Hearthstone with my laptop on my lap and my Kindle in the other hand. MADNESS!! I’ve never really considered just reading somewhere else instead, so there’s a great tip there 😉

    Liked by 1 person

What's on your mind?

