This book broke me!

A bit of a warning – this review was written on a whim when I was still in shock after finishing the book… I’m guessing it will at least be fun to publish it like this. I’ve only added two proper gifs :D.

Kings or PawnsKings or Pawns (Steps of Power #1) Β by J.J. Sherwood

My rating:Β star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-half-full-icon

Goodreads | Amazon | Audible

I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

This book broke me!
Smashed my heart, took my hopes, mixed them with mud and threw into the sewers…

I don’t know what to do with myself now
I’m just gonna lie down for a while (a few days should do) and think of nothing
And don’t even tell me to go to work tomorrow, I’m in no condition to do so. I bet my doctor would sign up the sick leave, right? If not I’ll make her read the book and she’ll sign one for herself too!

Seriously, J.J. you broke me πŸ˜‰

doctor who what

OK, now to the serious review. I admit it took me a while to fully get into the story. The beginning might’ve not been so exciting, but it was a good introduction to the world, the main characters, and their current situation. The whole thing felt a bit like a mix of “Song of Ice and Fire” and “Legends of Drizzt”, and by that I mean it well deserves a place on every fantasy-lover shelf! It’s well written, has some exciting battles and even the political struggles and plotting were interesting (that’s something I don’t say often).

And the moments that crushed me? I really can’t tell you without spoiling everything. I admit, I kind of felt some of these might happen, but not all! And not like THAT!
I need the next book….

doctor who sad

Do yourself a favor and read this!

Oh, and the audio version is quite good. At first I though the narrator might annoy me with his a bit posh way of reading and some of the accents he performed, but actually, it all fits, so I’ll be happy to listen to him again as long as it’s in a similar type of books.

TV-Kitty-icon2What was the book that made you think the world just ended and you have no idea how to continue with your miserable existence?

15 thoughts on “This book broke me!

  1. Pingback: Random appreciation day :P – Magic of books

  2. Pingback: Monthly summary – August – Magic of books

  3. Pingback: Fantastic continuation and a great cast of characters – Magic of books

  4. Pingback: Interview with J.J. Sherwood – Magic of books

  5. Pingback: Monthly summary – June ’16 – Magic of books

    1. checking that one πŸ˜€
      it might be strange but I kind of liked that feeling. It’s been a while a book shocked me like that. True, it took a while, but THAT ENDING!

      Like

What's on your mind?

