BBC Thursday – 23rd of June

BBC_Radio_logoWhoever invented computer games was evil! I’ve started playing Dragon Age: Inquisition yesterday [yes, I know it’s been a while since this game was out, but I was waiting for the right promo to buy it ;)]. At one moment when I’ve checked the clock it was about 23:20. Few dead monsters and a piece of a story later and it was 0:56! Whoever thinks time-travel is not possible is wrong! Pick up a good game – you’re guaranteed to travel into the future. The problem is it’s a one-way ticket ;). But, let’s move on to BBC Thursday [and to my coffee].

Today I’ve got for you two classic novel adaptations and one series that I rather liked and intend to listen again – a mystery with a certain priest.

Two of the stories come out today, so they might not be available until the evening, but I’m linking them up anyway as I hope there will be more stories next week that I’d like to share with you.

Oh, and there’s a bit of an info at the end of this post – check it out 😉

1. Portrait of a Lady by Henry James

Young and beautiful, Isabel Archer thinks that she is in control of her fate. Little does she know, however, that others behind the scenes are pulling the strings.

BBC Episode 1 | Episode 2 | Episode 3Goodreads

Day left: 27
Duration: 30 min | 3 episodes

Here’s a classic I don’t know yet. And since I don’t know it, I intend to listen to this drama since it’s a very low possibility of me actually finding time (and will) to read the actual book.

2. Two on a Tower by Thomas Hardy

When Lady Viviette Constantine discovers the handsome young astronomer Swithin St Cleeve on the lonely tower on her estate, a story of passion and sacrifice begins.

BBC Episode 1 | Episode 2 | Goodreads

Day left: 30
Duration: 60 min | 2 episodes
Rating: ★★★★☆

Apparently, I’ve listened to this one two years ago and I liked it. Pity I don’t remember much of it :/. I just might listen to it again as a reminder, after all, it’s only two hours.

3. Father Brown Stories by G.K. Chesterton

GK Chesterton’s stories of an amateur clerical sleuth with an uncanny understanding of the criminal mind at work.

Mystery afloat as a Cornish family’s curse starts to unravel. Who will come into his rightful inheritance – and will Father Brown be in time to avert a tragedy?

BBC The Perishing of the Pendragons | The Arrow of Heaven
The Mistake of the Machine | The Curse of the Golden Cross
Actor and Alibi | The Absence of Mr Glass | Goodreads

Day left: 30
Duration: 30 min | 17 episodes
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Here are some shorter stories from the Father Brown series. Some of them are really good, some are far from perfect. These dramas are rather enjoyable, so if you have some time to spare – listen to them and maybe you’ll find something you like just like I did.

Happy listening!

And here’s the “info” section ;). A while ago I’ve been contacted by Aya with a curious request – she was gathering favorite book quotes from other bloggers to create a 51 book quotes post. It just happens that It was published yesterday, so if you’re interested in checking people’s best choices visit 51 book quotes ft. YOU!

I don’t know about you, but I found it curious. Plus it’s yet another occasion to find some new blogs to follow :D.

3 thoughts on “BBC Thursday – 23rd of June

What's on your mind?

