A good start but rushed finale

I just realized this novel’s publication date was yesterday and since I’ve finally read it [yesterday because the pdf’s deadline was up] and I can’t decide whether I liked it or not.

Klaw The First CycleKlaw: The First Cycle by Antoine Ozanam, Joël Jurion, Yoann Guillé

My rating: star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-half-full-iconstar-empty-icon

Goodreads | Amazon

I received this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Goodreads blurb

A population of secret were-animals hide among us, and young Angel Tomassini is about to learn just how widespread — and dangerous — it is!

The story is split into three parts, well it actually does contain 3 issues of the novel, so that’s logical. The first one deals with the kid finding out he actually has some pretty cool shape-shifting power. The second moves on to him learning to use it and giving him a reason to do so. And the last one moves on few years ahead when Ange is already grown up and trained and has to deal with some tough things going on in his home city.

As much as I enjoyed the first two parts I felt the third one was too rushed. Pity, because it had a good start and I was hoping for so much more. It’s like all the ideas came together and were stuck up with fast-drying glue like the last Batman movie… oh sorry, I didn’t mean to say that… Who am I kidding, of course, I did :D.

Anyway, as much as I’d like to see a bit more of a back story of what happened in the last part, I still enjoyed reading it. There was plenty of action going on, the characters moved on with their lives.

I really like the graphic style. Detailed, yet with clear distinction of what you need to see. Lovely drawn and colorful. The action scenes are lively and clear, so you won’t get lost in who’s who.

KLAW_-_Eng_INT_-05_ KLAW_-_Eng_INT_-07_

There are some plot twists in this story that I did not see coming. It’s always good to read something unpredictable, see the unexpected. That’s what made the story feel fresh and what made me enjoy it. That’s why I wanted to give it a higher rating, but I simply can’t after looking at the whole picture.

Oh, and the idea with Chinese-zodiac animals being the dizhi was quite interesting. I admit, I can’t see a pig being a fighter, but it was curious.

Would I recommend it? I’d say – give it a try. This story combines some mafia wars, some supernatural shape-shifting powers, and a bit of superhero vigilante battles. It’s curious, even if a little rushed at some points.

TV-Kitty-icon2Do you like stories with shape-shifters and superheroes?
Have you read any good one lately?
Maybe you have some good graphic novel you’ve read recently? Let me know!

PS. I had to add this little thing at the end, because, damn it looks funny. It’s like the readers are saying F.U. And no, I don’t think the book deserves it, I liked it, even though it had some weak points, but it was still an enjoyable read.

KLAW rating

2 thoughts on “A good start but rushed finale

  1. Sounds interesting but shapeshifters aren’t among my lists of favorite characters…Maybe I should open my mind a bit more. I think the romance genre with it’s werebears/wolves/lions has left me with a sour impression… I just find it weird… hmm…

    I recently read my first graphic novel in decades (Mickey Mouse and Asterix would have been my choice of comics when I was a child), so I read Groot https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/26030887-groot?ac=1&from_search=true … it was really good and visually engaging. I see a lot of people on Goodreads read a lot of graphics and I don’t know where to go next cause I would love to read some more.. I guess I’m afraid of disappointment 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh I liked Asterix 😀
      There’s such a variety of graphic novels that I think everyone can find something for themselves if they want to.
      There are even comics made as companion books to some well known novels, like the ones from Dresden files (I like both the graphic and the “normal” novels) or the Aces stories from G.R.R. Martin – I actually bought a book after reading one of the graphic novels from this realm

      Liked by 1 person

What's on your mind?

