Turtles… turtles everywhere…

These two stories were my first written meeting with certain mutated turtles. I’ve seen plenty cartoons about them when I was a kid, but somehow never got my hands on the written stories. When I’ve picked these two books up I though it would concentrate on some event or certain characters. Instead, I got a set of short tales from characters past and present times. Even some from their past lives.

I received a copy of these books from the publisher via NetGalley.

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Allies and EnemiesTMNT: Allies and Enemies
by Mike Costa, Ben Epstein, Barbara Randall Kesel, Mike Henderson, Marley Zarcone, Ben Bates

My rating: star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-empty-iconstar-empty-icon

Goodreads | Amazon

Goodreads blurb

The spotlight shines on some of the Turtles best friends and fiercest enemies! These individual stories focus on Casey Jones, April O’Neil, Bepop & Rocksteady, and General Krang of the current ongoing series.

This book has a short introduction to April and Casey and how they’ve started working with the turtles, although I felt these stories were a bit too short. At least from April’s side – I was expecting more and what I got felt like an abridged version.

Bepop and Rocksteady’s story was a big disappointment to me. I know there’s not really much to these two, they are a rather brainless wreck-it-all mobsters, but I was hoping for something better.

It wasn’t a complete disappointment, I had some good time reading this novel, but I guess it was more due to the graphic and basic Turtle-awesomeness then the story itself.

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Enemies Old, Enemies NewTMNT: Enemies Old, Enemies New
by Kevin B. Eastman, Tom Waltz, Dan Duncan, Mateus Santolouco

My rating:  star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-half-full-iconstar-empty-icon

Goodreads | Amazon

Goodreads blurb

The Turtles learn the amazing story of their previous lives, and begin their journey as a true team of brothers! Meanwhile, Baxter Stockman unveils a deadly new strategy for capturing them, just as General Krang arrives in New York demanding results!

It was a curious novel with a good backstory to Turtles origin. Or rather their past lives in old Japan, where Splinter and his sons try to survive.

We also get a glimpse (because I wouldn’t call it a full story) into Stockman’s plans against the Turtles. He has his moments, but I wouldn’t bet on him at this point ;).

This novel has some good action scenes that made it more exciting and fun to read than the “Allies and Enemies”. There were few moments that really caught me and I couldn’t put down the book.

~~~~

It looks to me like these two novels are more of an introduction to the series. Maybe it’s supposed to be a revival of good old ninja turtles? It would be a nice start, but as solo books, they didn’t do much. Fans of the series probably won’t find many interesting things in here, but for people like me, it was a fun read. We got to know some of the origin stories for both heroes and villains, taste some action and all in an eye-catching, pleasant graphic style.

TV-Kitty-icon2Do you like TMNT? Were these one of your favorite cartoons when you were a kid?
Have you read any good graphic novels about them?

3 thoughts on “Turtles… turtles everywhere…

What's on your mind?

