Monthly summary – May ’16

Wow, it’s another month gone. I did many things this month, but reading was not a priority. So busy…

I feel I should apologize to you for posting so little. I feel just a tiny bit guilty ;). mostly for not having some posts ready in advance to post them in times like these. I hope next month will be better. I do have some posts partially ready, like last week’s BBC and Funny Friday posts. I was almost done with them, but couldn’t finish on time so they’ll be polished and posted this week.

So what did I accomplish in May?

Not much, but I had some good time doing it 😀

  • Finished 17 books: 5 novels, 2 short stories. April page count: lame 1650.
  • I’ve finished 2 sets of jigsaws – 1000 and 1500 pieces. Well, ok I finished the ‘1000’ in a day and the second in about 3, so not a big time consumer, but damn satisfying and relaxing :D. Right now I have 4000 piece scene started on the table, this one:

ship battle

  • I had not much luck with my book choices this month, my average rating: 3,1 stars.
  • I’ve missed the deadline on my Back to the future graphic novel – I’ve read about half and forgot the deadline’s coming… I really wanted to read it, it was a nice addition to the movies. I’ll find a way to read it whole.
  • My Goodreads yearly challenge went down from 16+ books ahead of schedule to only 1…
  • Witcher 3 is still an amazing game and the reason for this month’s lack of audio books among my reads…
  • 7 books ended up on a DNF shelf, 1 of which I might pick up again thanks to some helpful comments 🙂
  • I’ve read and started using a self-improvement book and it was surprisingly effective.

Favorite book of the month

IlluminaeIt’s not a surprise, right? This book is fantastic! But I already wrote about it, so I’ll give it a rest already 😛

This book is fantastic! But I already wrote about it, so I’ll give it a rest already :P.

I’ve only left a mini-review on the blog, you can find it here: Wednesday update and short reviews

Biggest disappointment

The City of WizardsActually, I wrote about this story in the same post as Illuminae. It was just not very good and I wonder why all the good reviews? Am I missing something here?

Maybe you’re read it and can tell me?

All the other stories I’ve read:

I’ve arranged them from worst to best, as usual – links lead to my review posts or to Goodreads page.

The City of Wizards Death Checks Inn Pains and Penalties Street Magicks  Habits 9 Steps To Your Personal Change Untraceable Illuminae

Currently reading / listening to:

Greeth

Yea, I know I still haven’t finished Greeth. I really do like it, but I have a hard time just sitting down and reading pretty much anything. Have you seen my interview with the author?

Other than that one there are a few stories I’ve started, but I still haven’t decided whether to finish them now or maybe put down for later.

Working on reviews:

Here are some of the novels I should review soon:

Death Checks Inn Pains and Penalties Grave Sight Untraceable Street Magicks

the 3 on the left will most likely get one post and some short reviews. They are all cozy mysteries, some are good, some not.

Top 5 visitors who left some interesting comments

This week’s edition will be picture+link only (I hope you guys don’t mind, if you do – let me know and I’ll delete the pics!). Click on the image to visit these awesome blogs!

bookheathen Anne honya LizScanlon Zezee

Thank you all!

9 thoughts on “Monthly summary – May ’16

  1. I’ll right away grasp your rss as I can not in finding your e-mail subscription link or e-newsletter
    service. Do you’ve any? Kindly permit me understand so that
    I could subscribe. Thanks.

    Like

  2. Oh man, I love jigsaws! I used to do them all the time and you’re right, they are so definitely relaxing! The 4000 piece one looks like a challenge- mighty!

    As for the books- I haven’t read any of those you listed… It’s baffling how much books there are in the world, eh?

    And- Thank you so much for including my blog link to your post! 🙂

    Cheers and enjoy the sunshine 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. so many stories…

      thanks for visiting and commenting 😀
      and yes, this jigsaw set is going to take me a while. Yesterday I managed to split them to few piles…. mighty similar piles… obviously I missed few pieces of border on the way 😀

      Liked by 1 person

What's on your mind?

