Wednesday update and short reviews

I’ve been trying to write something since Monday… I’m so not in a mood for it. I’ve skipped the second T5W and I’m not even sorry 😛

I’m trying to read 5 books now. The progress is slow because I can’t really decide which one I want to read and if I want to finish any of them. I guess you could call it a slump…

To make up for it I’ll write two short reviews of two of my recent reads today – Illuminae and The City of Wizards. Two stories that are different in pretty much every aspect. Illuminae is a great sci-fi, fantastically written with complex characters, exciting world, and great format. City of Wizards is a much shorter story that rather disappointed me, was short and lacked a bit of a world/character development elements.

In the meantime, my birthday had come and gone again. Once again I was reassured that I’ve got amazing friends who give fantastic gifts :D. Plus my “forbidden books” t-shirt finally came and the second Witcher extension is coming out soon! Weather is mostly nice and it looks like everything is great. Just not the writing. Not a big deal, I’ll get over it eventually.

Illuminae
Illuminae by Amie Kaufman, Jay Kristoff

star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-icon
tags: sci-fi, young adult, female heroine, action, teen romance, thrilling, well written, favorite

From my recent finished reads, I’ve finally got my hands on and read Illuminae. I pretty much started reading as soon as I got out of the bookstore :D. It’s awesome! And surprising. I loved the format, it made the book more interesting, in few moments it helped to create a mood, it was perfect. Plus it made the reading process faster :).

I’ll definitely read the next book.

That’s pretty much all I want to tell you. The book is fantastic, go check some proper reviews if you don’t believe me (cover’s linked to Goodreads) or simply read the book. And do yourself a favor and read it on paper not any of the electronic versions. I haven’t checked the ebook, but I imagine it loses some charm in that format.

The City of Wizards
The City of Wizards by George Mazurek

star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-empty-iconstar-empty-iconstar-empty-icon
tags: fantasy, wizards, instant-love, way too obvious, too short, fallen flat, fast-paced

And the second books I’d like to share with you is The City of Wizards. That was a strange one. Short read, barely 128 pages, but it’s full of excitement. The speed in which the story progresses is both good and bad. The good part is that you can finish it fast and not get bored. The bad is that I wish I had some slower moments to take a breath, get to know the place and the characters and I’m not getting a chance.

I kind of wished I liked this story more. I was approached by the author through Goodreads and asked to read and review the book. It was an Amazon freebie at the time, so I thought “why not”. Plus the story has some good reviews, so maybe I just read it at a wrong time?

Anyway, when I’ve started reading it seemed like nothing special. At about 30% the story started to be… well I could describe my reading experience in emots at this point or shoutouts. It went pretty much like this:

[eyroll] – I actually did that, even though I was reading in a train
[whaaat?]
[righ, because you didn’t know that’s comming] – that was a sarcasm in case you didn’t catch it
[eyroll again]
[well, obviously!]
[oh, no she didn’t!]
[SERIOUSLY?!?]
[riiiight… of course he loves you, after all, you know each other for almost 3 FREAKIN’ DAYS]

I could go on like this, but I think you get the idea :/. At this point, I’m starting to think I should’ve written a separate post for this review…

This story has a potential, but it seems like it doesn’t use it. Yes, there were many things that bothered me here, like the instant love and sudden coming to power and the many unexplained world elements and… anyway, it had also some good parts, I’d really like to know a bit more about this magic system because it seemed quite interesting.

The more I think about this story the less sure I am why so many people liked it and I haven’t? Maybe you could read it and tell me your thoughts?

9 thoughts on “Wednesday update and short reviews

  1. Pingback: Monthly summary – May ’16 – Magic of books

  2. Happy belated Birthday!! I’m so glad you enjoyed Illuminae as I loved it!! I also audio booked it and if you get a chance you should audiobook it because it’s amazing. They have different actors for the different characters and sound effects it was sooo good!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi, Imagini, I feel you, seriously, I’ve had that experience..many times.. just keep pushing through.
    Love your review of City of Wizards….bahaaaa…eye rolls… Seriously, how do some of these authors write this stuff.
    However, I will read Illuminae , sounds realy good..thanks for the recommendation.

    Liked by 1 person

What's on your mind?

