BBC (almost) Thursday – 6th of May

BBC_Radio_logo

Well, I’m a bit late this week :P. But I have an explanation! And yes, the lack of time is part of it, the other part is that my net was working so bad yesterday I couldn’t do a thing! It was so annoying!

Oh, but here are 3 dramas for this week :). Two classics and one… because of a voice. You’ll see what I mean.

1. Don Quixote – Miguel de Cervantes

The Adventures of the Ingenious Gentleman Don Quixote de Ie Mancha by Miguel De Cervantes Saavedra.

Don Quixote dons his rusty armour, mounts his broken down horse and sets off with Sancho Panza, his faithful squire, to put the world to rights. The classic adventure published in 1605. Adapted by John Arden.

BBC Episode 1 | Episode 2Goodreads

Day left: 23
Duration: 90 min | 2 episodes aired weekly on Saturday
Rating: ★★★★☆

We all know how that one goes, right? A crazy man goes to an adventure dragging his squire with him. A romantic yet sad story. I’ve listened to it last year and was a decent adaptation.

2. Look Back in Anger – John Osborne with David Tennant

To celebrate sixty years since John Osborne wrote his classic play, Richard Wilson directs a new radio dramatisation with David Tennant as Jimmy Porter. The play that launched the Angry Young Man movement has lost none of its bite and still disturbs and questions in equal measure.

BBC Link | Goodreads

Day left: 24
Duration: 90 min | 1 episode

 

Technically this play is also classified as “classic”, so I should’ve written 3 classics at the beginning, but this is the one I’ll listen to due to the actor :D. As a Doctor Who fan, I simply can’t resist! Will this story be good? I don’t know, I’ll find out soon, right now I’m just letting you know it’s out there and that it’s on my to-listen-to list :D.

 

3. The Winter’s Tale – William Shakespeare

Eve Best, Danny Sapani and Shaun Dooley star in the magical product of the Bard’s later years. Treading new dramatic ground The Winter’s Tale embraces tragedy, poetry, folklore, magic realism, music, comedy and the infamous stage direction “exit pursued by a bear”.

BBC Link | Goodreads

Day left: 25
Duration: 120 min | 1 episode

This is one of those classics that I’d like to know, but somehow never got into reading it. There are so many mentioning of Shakespeare’s plays all over the literature, but the plays themselves seem a bit too hard for me to get into. Maybe because I do prefer prose over poetry and plays like these were never something I looked forward to reading.

Anyway, I do like to know what is this story about, so I intend to listen to it since it’s most likely I won’t read it.

Happy listening!

6 thoughts on “BBC (almost) Thursday – 6th of May

  1. I’ve seen Look Back in Anger so many times on the stage – never with David Tennant, but I can imagine him in it. And I think Don Quixote was one of the first adult books I ever read.

    Liked by 1 person

What's on your mind?

