Monthly summary – April ’16

Another month passed by. The weather got warmer, but still not enough. The seeds in my garden started growing. I’m not really giving them much of a chance sine I’m the “gardener” but maybe they have enough will to survive. I have totally no gardening skills, but luckily nature can sometimes survive on its own so I’m counting for some fresh herbs within few months.

So what did I accomplish in April?

  • Finished 17 books: 6 novels, 1 short story, 5 audio, 5 graphic novels. April page count: 4109. Yup, I’m totally good with that 😀
  • It seems I’ve hit on some good books because my average rating is just a bit over 4 stars!
  • I went a bit outside of my comfort zone and I’ve finally read two memoirs: “Just a geek” and “You’re never weird on the Internet“. I think these two were perfect for someone like me to get closer to this genre :D. Yes, I’ve marked them both with 4 stars.
  • I’ve started new weekly post series – Funny Friday that will lead you through some of the books that made me laugh.
  • I’ve tried to check what is wrong with my BBC posts 🙂 The feedback was helpful, so I guess I’ve succeeded? Once again big thanks to all who answered my call!
  • I finally read “Daughter of smoke and bone” and I have to say I love the writing style and the language. The story is good and I want to know more of it because it feels like the book was cut in half.
  • I’ve got “Illuminae“! I’ve started reading it on my way home and reached 73 pages before I managed to put it down. I’ve heard that it’s similar to Battlestar, but I didn’t know how much. It’s like a teen drama in Battlestar-like setting :D. Love the style and the look of this book.

Favorite book of the month

Word puppetsOK, usually I’m choosing the I gave the highest rating to, but this time, I have to say my favorite book of the month was “Word Puppets“.

It’s an anthology of various stories by M.R. Kowal, a pretty good one at that. As a bonus – the intro to the book was written by Patrick Rothfuss. I loved it :D. And for the full review check the link above.

Biggest disappointment

The Legend of Bold RileyThe one book that started well, but was a bit of a disappointment at the end was a graphic novel – The Legend of Bold Railey. I’m not talking about the plot and the stories, the only thing that did disappoint me were the graphics in some of the stories.

You see the cover? The graphic looks lovely, right? It is and I loved the beginnings of the book. But the book is split so stories and each story is drawn by someone else. Let’s say I didn’t appreciate all of them.

The stories themselves are based on Indian mythology if I’m not mistaken? I loved to read stories from, let’s say, less popular mythology. They were interesting and so different from what I’m used to. Loved it.

All the other stories I’ve read:

I’ve arranged them from worst to best, as usual – links lead to my review posts or to Goodreads page.

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Allies and Enemies The Legend of Bold Riley   Grave Sight Archmage   Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Enemies Old, Enemies New Wings of Hope The Misadventures of Grumpy Cat Transient City Maestro You're Never Weird on the Internet (Almost) Daughter of Smoke & Bone   Just a Geek Red Rising Word puppets Never Trust a Skinny Cupcake Baker   Complete Alice in Wonderland

Currently reading / listening to:

Illuminae Greeth Droga do Nidaros

For now, I’m positively surprised by each of the stories.
Illuminae is very similar to BSG – my totally favorite TV-show, but it has more teens and romance ;).
Greeth is a novel I’ve received for review and even though it’s quite brutal, even gory sometimes It’s really well written and interesting – a great start for a first-time novelist! I’ll tell you all about it in a rview when I’ll finish reading.
As for Oko Jelenia (Deer’s eye) book – it’s something I’ve seen my friend read a while ago and I’ve seen her going through several parts of the series within days. Now I know she reads a lot, but it’s usually fanfiction, so I had to check what it was all about. It’s a curious mix of fantasy, time-travel, and sci-fi and for now it does sound good.

Working on reviews:

Here are some of the novel I should review soon:

Transient City The Misadventures of Grumpy Cat Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Enemies Old, Enemies New Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Allies and Enemies

Top 5 visitors who left some interesting comments

This week’s edition will be picture+link only (I hope you guys don’t mind, if you do – let me know and I’ll delete the pics!). Click on the image to visit these awesome blogs!

bookheathen Anne LizScanlon Zezee honya

Thank you all!

Oh, and do remember that SYNC starts soon!

SYNC

I’d love to get The Sin Eater’s Daughter, I only hope it will be available in my country because last year they seriously pissed me off with all the US-only books.

6 thoughts on “Monthly summary – April ’16

  1. Oh I do love a good memoir but I have to be in the mood for them. I’ve been reading a memoir of a Palestinian journalist who was on the press team for Hillary Clinton when she was Secretary of State. Really interesting but heavy on the politics and current affairs.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Till now I’ve only checked books about DaVinci and Tesla. I’m not really a memoir reading person. But the two I’ve mentioned in the post are so different. First of all – the made them funny. I do like funny ;-). And I’ve listened to audiobooks read by the authors! Especially Will’s was good since he added some comments into the recording.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m a total history geek (studied history as my undergrad at university) so I love anything that has a historical tint to it. I’ve heard a lot of good things about Will’s book. Maybe I’ll pick it up.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. 17 books, that’s crazy! I’m glad you liked Red Rising, it was one of my favorite books last year and Golden Son is on my TBR for May. Can’t wait to see what Pierce Brown has in store.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. 17 books! You’re a machine no joke and 4 stars being around your average means that you did pretty good with picking out pretty good books 😀 So glad you’re enjoying Illuminae at the moment! I definitively think the format helped me enjoy it more,

    Liked by 1 person

What's on your mind?

