What if you could become a god for a while?

I’ve been trying to write this review for weeks now… I loved these novels, so I don’t know why it would be hard. Since I don’t think I’ll write anything good, I’ll just go on with few positive thoughts about these stories.

The Wicked + The Divine vol. 1 – 3

Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie, Matt Wilson, Clayton Cowles

The Wicked + The Divine, Vol. 1 The Faust Act The Wicked + The Divine, Vol. 2 Fandemonium The Wicked + The Divine, Vol. 3 Commercial Suicide

Goodreads links: Vol 1 | Vol 2 | Vol 3
Amazon links: Vol 1 | Vol 2 | Vol 3

My rating: star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-half-full-icon

I received Vol 3 from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. 

Goodreads blurb for volume 1:

Every ninety years, twelve gods incarnate as humans. They are loved. They are hated. In two years, they are dead. The team behind critical tongue-attractors like Young Avengers and PHONOGRAM reunite to create a world where gods are the ultimate pop stars and pop stars are the ultimate gods. But remember: just because you’re immortal, doesn’t mean you’re going to live forever.

The first part feels like an introduction to the series – you meet most of the important characters, find out what’s going on and have some hints to the main plot. It all gets unraveled in the next parts of the story, everything comes together, you’re starting to see who the real villain is and where it’s all heading.

I’ve started to like some of the characters right away, maybe not Laura – she’s OK if you like a wannabe god fangirl and she has some good qualities, but somehow I didn’t like her too much. I did like Luci :D. She’s awesome! Morrigan is totally crazy and Ananke is… suspicious… I didn’t like her either.

The whole idea of the reincarnated gods was fantastic! Be a rockstar god for a while might sound like a great deal, especially if you remember your past lives, but it also sounds scary – two years and you’re dead!

And the artwork! It’s fantastic, colorful, perfectly done! At least in volumes one and two. It changed a bit in volume three and I have to say I don’t like this change too much. The style and the coloring were different and in some places it looked a bit messy. But the story saves it and since I’ve read an ARC maybe it wasn’t finalized yet? But the first two volumes created this world and I loved them.

I’ve read all three volumes and I can’t believe the cliffhangers! The ones after vol 1 and 2 were fine because I still had the next part waiting, but with volume 3 I’ll have to wait about a year for the next part! Horrible, brutal, heartless!
Anyway, I really like how the story progresses and I can’t wait to find out how will it all end.

TV-Kitty-icon2Have you read these novels?
What are your thoughts?
Or maybe these are still on your TBR list?

PS: Since I apparently wrote few words on GR after I’ve finished reading vol2 and 3 It seemed appropriate to add them here 😛

Vol 2:
WTF?!?! what’s with THAT ending!
It’s so good I’ve got the next volume waiting or I’d go and kill someone

Vol 3:
Oh. My. God! You’ve got to be kidding me with this cliffhanger. Again! I hate you guys… And I love this novel!

5 thoughts on “What if you could become a god for a while?

  1. The artwork changes in the third volume? Hmmm that’s weird.
    But gosh I hope these cliffhangers don’t kill me too hard. I found Laura a neutraul character but all of the spotlight was really on the gods, especially Luci. Now I really want to read volume 2!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I hadn’t heard of it either (but then, I don’t check the Choice awards!), but it’s on my TBR now.

    Okay, I feel dumb, but I have to ask. You posted the synopsis, which includes:

    “The team behind critical tongue-attractors like Young Avengers and PHONOGRAM reunite […]”

    What does “critical tongue-attractors” mean? It sounds awful. D:

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, I didn’t really noticed 😀 I just copied it from Goodreads. I guess I should read these more closely 😛
      I guess we’d have to ask the author what he/she meant. If it was the popularity, they yeah, I’m guessing they were right. Or maybe that people will talk about these novels? They surely are original, so that might’ve been the point.

      Liked by 1 person

What's on your mind?

