Cupcakes, pole dancing and murder

I’ve promised you a review of yet another book by one of my latest favorite writers D.E. Haggerty and here it is! This time, it’s a brand new book [yes, I’m a bit after the premiere, but I had some other reads to finish before they expired] and an opening to the new series! It involves tasty cupcakes, pink-haired baker, a not-so-skinny doctor/bakery owner, and a hot detective. Yup, the hot detective is a must! 😛

Never Trust a Skinny Cupcake BakerNever Trust a Skinny Cupcake Baker (Death by Cupcake #1) by D.E. Haggerty

My rating: star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-half-full-icon

Goodreads | Amazon

I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Goodreads blurb:

Callie’s life is rather awesome. She owns a successful bakery and teaches German literature at the local university. There’s just one tiny problem. She has no self-confidence when it comes to her body. And then there’s the little matter of her being accused of murdering her pole dancing instructor. There’s no way Callie’s going to risk losing her teaching position and thus she embarks, with her best baker bud Anna, on a journey to discover the real killer. Between stripper auditions and a detective who insists Callie is the woman of his dreams, it’s a roller coaster adventure. Cupcakes not included

If you’re in a need of a book that makes you crave for sweets, keeps your mood up and has a bit of mystery then this is it! Callie is a perfect and relatable character, especially if you’re self-conscious about your weight ;). Together with her kind of crazy, in a positive way, pixie friend they make a unique duo that will make sure to keep your mood up. Prepare for some laugh 🙂

I love the light style in which these books are written. The easy, yet well-plotted mysteries that keep your mind busy and in the same time make you happy. All these lively characters are simply perfect, it’s so easy to like them. And the romantic note is nicely mixed up into the story.

Yet again I have to say I loved the chapter titles/quotes. They are especially perfect if you’re on a diet :P. Here are few examples:

My Diet Plan: Make all my friends cupcakes: the fatter they get, the thinner I’ll look…

A balanced diet is a cupcake in each hand.

A recent study has found that women who carry a little extra weight live longer than men who mention it.

According to this BMI chart, I’m too short.

Ok, I’m done with quotes 😛 I don’t usually add them, but I couldn’t resist. I have to say this book had a perfect timing for me. I probably should stop writing now, because I’m so going to write some personal stuff right now so you can quit reading [somehow I have a feeling not many of you will].
Anyway, due to some untimely words and one stupid bet three of my friends and I had decided to lose some weight. We’ve got a deadline and limit set… it’s kind of working since we have a competition and we motivate each other. I have to admit it’s easier to do it in a group, after all, we can throw sweets at each other with a hope that the other person will take the bait and lose ;).
The funny thing is we’ve decided that at the end of our wonderful bet the loser (the one who will loose the least kilograms) has to buy everyone some big ice creams or piece of cake or something like this.
Yup. The sweets. Sooo, we’re basically losing weight to eat sweets :D.
Life can be weird like that.

OK, back to the books…
So once again I’d love to recommend you this book and the other two I’ve already read and reviewed. If you’re looking for a funny cozy mystery this is it! Grab it, read it, be happy 😀

Murder, Mystery & Dating Mayhem Love in the Time of MurderCheck my reviews of two more books by D.E. Haggerty – click on the covers.

A bit of a side note at this point – these covers are fun! Especially the one from “Love in the Time of Murder”.

TV-Kitty-icon2How about now, have I convinced you to read any of these books? Give it a try at least? I promise these are fun! And addictive 😀

13 thoughts on “Cupcakes, pole dancing and murder

  1. Pingback: What’s in these cupcakes? – Magic of books

  2. Pingback: Top 5 Wednesday – Favorite Posts – Magic of books

  3. Pingback: More cupcakes, sexy beard and gangs – Magic of books

  4. Pingback: Funny Friday – army men, cupcakes and knitting – Magic of books

  5. Diana

    Nice review. This gave me a craving for cupcakes. Sounds like a fun, light read. Good luck on your own goals,I hope you win the bet.Either way, you will all be winners at the end 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Thanks for taking the time to read and review yet another one of my books! I’m working on Anna’s book at the moment and she is a blast – and a total troublemaker. Good luck with your diet. I started a new one myself three weeks ago. It’s slow going but the scale is going in the right direction!

    Liked by 1 person

What's on your mind?

