BBC Thursday – 21st of April

BBC_Radio_logo

Another week and new exciting dramatizations for you! This week: a bit of classic, a thrilling story and a mystery with a bit of humor.

And it’s the time to close my little survey and give you the results. Big thanks to all who voted and left comments!

1. The Forsytes Continues – John Galsworthy

The Forsytes Continues is the 2nd of 4 series of The Forsyte Saga, which follows the life of young Fleur Forsyte, the baby born at the end of series one. Now 19 and thoroughly spoiled by her doting father, Fleur is relishing everything the 1920s has to offer.

It’s 20 years since Soames Forsyte divorced the love of his life, Irene, who went on to marry his cousin Jo. Now their respective children have grown up, neither knowing their parents’ troubled history.

BBC Episode 1 | Episode 2 | Episode 3 | Episode 4 | Episode 5 | Episode 6 | Episode 7 | Goodreads

Day left: 25
Duration: various min | 7 episodes

The second series of the Forsythe saga. I’ve listened to most of the first series, but one or two episodes escaped me. Somehow BBC messed up the times and the episode expired before it should. Anyway, It is an interesting drama and I’m glad I’ll have an opportunity to continue my listening.

2. 10 Days – Gillian Slovo

A gripping thriller by Orange Prize-shortlisted author Gillian Slovo. Ten unpredictable days of violence erupt from a stifling heat wave. And, as Westminster careers are being made or ruined, lives are at stake.

Ten Days is about what happens when politics, policing and the hard realities of living in London collide.

BBC Episode 1 | Episode 2 | Episode 3 | Episode 4 | Episode 5
Episode 6 | Episode 7 | Episode 8 | Episode 9 & 10 – links not yet available

Day left: 27
Duration: 15 min | 10 episodes

I was kind of worried that this one might not be worth my time since the book reviews on Goodreads are not so positive, but I’ve started listening and I kind of like it. We’ll see if it will stay as good.

3. Jagged Prayer (DI Cromwell) – Robert Smith

A suspicious death in a pond unites Detective Inspector Cromwell and convent Mother Helen. Are they about to embark on a long and unlikely relationship?

BBC Episode 1 | Episode 2 | Episode 3 | Episode 4 |

Day left: 27
Duration: 30 min | 4 episodes
Rating: ★★★★★

This one is a short series of crime novels. All of them involve a certain detective and a group of nuns. There’s humor, there’s mystery and what else would you need to entertain you in the evening? 😉

Survey results

First a little bit from the comments. I think I’ve answered the “what’s BBC” question last week 😉 I hope it helped.

I’m glad to hear at least some of you listen to the drama’s I’m linking up :). I know you don’t always have time and I don’t blame you, I don’t always manage either. And I’m so happy that you actually like my suggestions!

As for the number of links, I’ve got comments that pretty much null each other out :/. Since I can’t really make everyone happy I’ll keep the episode links as they are now. I know it’s not a perfect solution, I’ll try to think of a way to make it look clearer for the future.

Let’s move on to some graphic representation of your answers 😀

how often

Ah well, this one could’ve been better, but I’m glad there were no reply’s “never” [I’m guessing these people haven’t opened this post…]

listen or not

Pity, I’d love to make more of you to listen to these, but I can’t magick-up some extra time [yet], so I guess it won’t change anytime soon?

like it or not

Good :D. I’ll do my best to choose only the most interesting dramas, especially since…

dramas at a time

OK, I got it! I will limit my choices to two, sometimes three at a time. With the extra busy weeks (when there will bee too many awesome BBC dramas to miss any) I will maybe create a second post on Sunday or something like that. Will that be fine?

5 thoughts on “BBC Thursday – 21st of April

  1. Ah well, this one could’ve been better, but I’m glad there were no reply’s “never” [I’m guessing these people haven’t opened this post…]

    I actually snorted some chocolate milk out of my nose while reading that XD.

    Pff, I always love your picks! Especially since I can never find anything interesting myself when I look for similar podcasts’n shizzle. A narrowed down selection twice a week? I can work with that 😀

    Liked by 1 person

What's on your mind?

