Izzy and the resourceful knitters

Remember when I wrote about “Love in Time of Murder“? I really did like that book. I liked it so much I bought the first part of the series as soon as I finished reading that one. And here it is :). The first story of the series about the amazing Knitting Detectives!

Murder, Mystery & Dating MayhemMurder, Mystery & Dating Mayhem (The Gray-Haired Knitting Detectives #1) by D.E. Haggerty

My rating: star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-icon star-half-full-icon

Goodreads | Amazon

I’m usually trying to avoid Goodreads blurbs in book reviews, but, in this case, I simply have to include it because I know I won’t do better:

My name is Izzy. I drink too much, am clumsier than a newborn foal, and my brain-to-mouth filter often malfunctions. My daredevil husband killed himself in a parachuting accident five years ago and my best friend Jack has decided it’s time I jump back in the dating pool. He’s perfectly happy to throw me in if I don’t listen. Just when things in the dating world start to heat up, my grandma dies. Only her knitting group of Jessica Fletcher wannabes is sure it’s murder. I’m not convinced but I’m always up for a bit of excitement as long as it doesn’t lead to a night in jail. Well, more than one night anyway. Will I miss my chance at love because I’m chasing imaginary killers? Did someone really kill grandma or am I and my merry band of geriatric thieves imagining things?

Are you hooked already? Well, that’s just a sample of what the book contains!

This story is filled with loveable characters, cute romance and a bit of a mystery that needs solving. After all, you Izzy can’t possibly be a killer, right? Plus there’s this handsome detective trying to date her. Oooh, you have to read about their first date!

I loved that each chapter was “titled” with a song – name + singer/band. It not only gave the idea of what it will be about but also gave you something to listen to while reading :P. Not that I did that since I don’t usually listen to music while reading + I do most of my reading away from home and mobile internet isn’t cheap :P… but I could, plus you can check out the songs after or before reading the book. All I want to say is that I liked that idea :D.

This is the first book that makes you fall in love with the Knitting detectives. This bunch of old ladies won’t let you get bored. They’re curious, energetic and they won’t give up. The ideas they have are almost crazy (who would think they’d want to play thieves in the middle of the night!).

Yes, there are many fantastic moments in this book. Some will make you laugh, some will even scare you (just a bit) it all makes the whole reading experience enjoyable. Simply perfect cozy mystery.

TV-Kitty-icon2Have you read any of D.E. Haggerty’s books yet? You should! I’m reading the third one now (review soon) and I can say she had already secured herself a position among my favorite authors :D. I love these cozy mysteries!

6 thoughts on “Izzy and the resourceful knitters

  1. Pingback: Funny Friday – army men, cupcakes and knitting – Magic of books

  2. Pingback: Cupcakes, pole dancing and murder – Magic of books

  3. Wow! THanks for writing such a wonderful review. I’m glad you enjoyed the book. When I wrote this book, I had no intention of making it into a series but many reviewers said they liked the knitters. I admit I had a ball writing them and thought “Why not?”

    Liked by 1 person

What's on your mind?

