Down the rabbit hole

Complete Alice in WonderlandComplete Alice in Wonderland by Leah Moore, John Reppion , Erica Awano

My rating: star-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-full-iconstar-empty-icon

Goodreads | Amazon

I received a copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Goodreads blurb:

Dynamite Entertainment takes readers down the rabbit hole and into the astonishing world of Lewis Carroll with The Complete Alice in Wonderland. This comic book adaptation of Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. Written by John Reppion and Leah Moore, illustrated by Erica Awano, and based on the original story by Lewis Carroll.

Oooh Alice, what else could be said about her story. There were so many versions and retellings out there. Some are original, some… not so much. Some simply try to make the story more approachable.

This graphic novel was surely lovely. It keeps to the original story. Well, it actually IS the original story, but with graphics instead of some text. Was it enjoyable? Yes. I loved the images. They are lovely, have just enough details and fit perfectly with the story. They are somewhat similar to Disney movie, but just a bit more mature maybe? Well, see what I mean:

Alice02:Layout 1 CompleteAlice_Page_08 Alice02:Layout 1

So, umm graphic is pretty much all I can talk about as the rest of the story is well known to anyone who read the original books. I might not remember everything well, but I’m pretty sure there weren’t any changes here. Please tell me if I’m wrong!

I still enjoyed it pretty well and I think kids will like this novel even more, especially the ones who are eager to read and yet the amount of text in normal book intimidates them :).

TV-Kitty-icon2Have you read any “Alice in Wonderland” retellings? I know there are tons of these out there, but which did you find most interesting, original, which were your favorite and which you wished you’ve never read? 

I might not be a fan of the original books, but I do like the stories based on them. I admit that Caroll had quite an imagination to create this strange world, maybe I just grew out of it? I can see why children love these stories.

6 thoughts on “Down the rabbit hole

  1. I actually like the original Alice . . . as well as retellings (Gregory Maguire’s After Alice stands out among the Alice retellings in my mind). And the illustrations in this book look lovely; I might have to check it out! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

What's on your mind?

