Top 5 Wed… or not…

I don’t feel like doing Top 5 Wednesday today, so instead I’ve decided to do a kind of a summary od the first quarter of 2016. What I did, what I liked and some of the things I’m planning to do. I’ll be back with Top 5 Wednesday next week, I didn’t really like today’s topic anyway. And by “didn’s like” I mean – I don’t think I could find many books on this topic anyway. I barely managed to dig up some mental illness books for one of last year’s topics :P.

I should probably warn you – I intend to add few numbers, possibly in graphic form πŸ˜› I was kind of curious about some of my bookish stats and I’ve created a tracker for the things that Goodreads doesn’t track.

Favorite reads of 2016 thus far

MartianΒ The Wicked + The Divine, Vol. 1 The Faust ActΒ Love in the Time of Murder Enchanted

What did I likeΒ so much about these books?

The Martian – one of few sci-fi novels that really took me in! It’s fantastically written, it keeps you on the edge, the main character is fantastic, and the humor! I do like books with a bit of humor that’s why Pratchett is among my favorites.

The Wicked + The Divine – it took me a while to read these, my motivation was that theΒ 3rd volume PDF from Netgalley was about to expire and I wanted to know the whole story not only the last part. I loved it! Graphic’s amazing, main character is interesting and the plot pulls you in. The mystery that unravels through all the volumes is well written and I can’t wait to read more of it.

Love in the Time of Murder – a lovely cozy mystery with a solid dose of romance. A fantastic crew of characters, especially the knitting ladies. I loved the idea so much that I went for the other books in series. “Murder, mystery and dating mayhem” is just as good and it gives you a view into how the whole bunch got together.

Enchanted – lovely fairy tale retelling that I can’t get enough of! Yes, it was a re-read, but it was so cute I just couldn’t resist! I recently found out there’s a second book about Trix! I need it :D.

BBC and the horrible IT

BBC_Radio_logoFrom the other news – I had a horrible moment at work today. The IT blocked BBC radio!!! I was horrified! Luckily it started working after about half hour, but I was already finding my way around this problem (which totally dragged me away from any type of work). I can’t stand this kind of stress :P.

And since we’re on the topic of BBC, I hope more of you will fill in my little survey from the last week’s BBC Thursday! I got 6 responses and they were really helpful! Thanks, guys, I really appreciate it! Especially the comments. Oh, and one explanation as for

Oh, and one explanation as for what BBC Radio is (I probably should’ve explained it earlier). From my point of view, it’s an online radio station you can listen to through their website. As any other station (or rather a gathering of stations since the web has few of them) it has music, news, and some comedy programs. But what I’m interested in are the book adaptations and various Radio drama’s. They have plenty of these, especially on Radio 4 Extra. These are the things I’m linking you up on BBC Thursdays :).

I might be kind of addicted to these actually…

Let’s move on to some numbers

From the beginning of 2016, I’ve listened to or read 50 stories. A nice, round number :D. It’s good for statistics too – easy to count percentages and possible future statistics :P. These 50 stories contained 12 200 pages with an average of 214.2 pages per book. I admit I could’ve done better, but I still think it’s good enough for me. Average rating – 3.77. I think I’m rating some of my reads a bit too high…

Done with boring numbers πŸ˜› time for some graphics!

authors and series

Apparently I have a tendency to discover new authors and yet keep to the serialized books… how does that work you might ask? Well, I’m reading a lot of first books in series and It seems I can’t stay with the series for long. I think I should switch to reading stand-alone novels, but there’s not that many of them. Apparently series are more profitable?

What and where – in other words, what book formats I’m reading and where do I find them.

book formatΒ source

I won’t say “no” to a free book :P. Yes, Netgalley is still my main source of books and it will stay like this untilΒ I get bored. I treat is as an opportunity to find new authors and maybe catch something precious from the author I already know. As for SYNC – pretty much all the audiobooks I’ve listened through these three months were from there. Only one was bought – the Archmage by R.A. Salvatore.

That reminds me – SYNC is starting with new series of free audiobooks in May. There’s going to be “Sin Eater’s Daughter” in the second week. I just hope this time they choose wiser and went for the books that are actually available worldwide. Last year I could only get about half of the stories which is kind of annoying.

And now, since everyone seems to be obsessed with the genders I’ve also started tracking this. I’ve got some funny results in the main character part…

gender

Yes, I’m talking about the “other” :D. It’s from “Musiville” – the characters were a mix of an animal and a musical instrument. Some of them had a feel of a certain gender, but it was never clearly defined, so I went with “other”.

I’ve also got a chart for the countries, but instead of putting it here I’ve added it to my Around the world in books page.

The random book I own challenge

I finally decided to shake my TBR jar and pick this one random paper book I should read. While writing this I realized you might want to see my jar and that required making a photo and that’s why I’m posting this so late (it’s almost midnight). And yes, it’s standing on the Bleachy shelf :P.

the mighty TBRjar

You might notice there are 3 colors of stars there. It might be a bit of a cheat, but I’ve decided I need to differentiateΒ between 2 kinds of books:

  • white stars – the paper books I own – the ones I haven’t read yet obviously
  • purple stars – some of the electronic books – ebooks, graphic novels, and audio books
  • green stars – classics, not all of these I own, but the beauty of these is that they’re available from free sources, like Project Gutenberg πŸ™‚

I haven’t added new stars for about three months, so it doesn’t contain my latest purchases, but it will do for now.

And as for the chosen one, the fate wanted me to read one of my special “pretty” editions, so I might add few words about the looks when I’ll be writing Β my review :). I’ve got this lovely edition of some of Verne’s stories, I intend to gather more of them, but for now I only got 3 books including two parts ofΒ Two Years’ Vacation.

One last thing

I’ve mentioned I’m going to make some changes here, for now, I’ll keep them to the content and leave the blog look as it is. Some of the things I want to write about:

  • A journey through my bookshelves – a bit of a show-off post where I’ll be showing you a photo of a part of my bookshelf and write few words about the chosen books. Well, I wrote show-off, but I’d rather intend it to be a reminder for myself and maybe some recommendations for you. I want to see how much I remember from the books I’ve read a long time ago.
  • A discussion post – where I’ll try to write few words about whatever comes to my mind and is somewhat connected to books :D. I hope I’ll get some responses from you for these posts :D.
  • Maybe, but just maybe I’ll write few words about book vs movie – how the adaptation broke the book (or maybe how it didn’t).

Any questions? Comments, as always – feel free to share your thoughts πŸ˜€

And one last tiny bit to end this post with something funny:

forbidden bboks

This will be my new t-shirt :D. Click on the image to see the web!

22 thoughts on “Top 5 Wed… or not…

  1. I love the TBR jar. I’d totally copy it but that would take time away from reading πŸ™‚ I also realized that I read mostly female authors. This, I will explore some more. Great post! Have a good week

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the TBR jar! Such a clever idea – what a fun and easy way to pick your next read. I always spend ages agonising over what to read next so maybe I need one… though in truth I’m probably too lazy to set it up πŸ™‚

    I also love your graphs – I always find stats fascinating and enjoy seeing how other people discover and read their books. I think my ‘book format’ pie chart would look very different to yours though… a tiny sliver for ebooks and two big chunks for audiobooks and paper books.

    Interesting you read more books with female main characters, but more male authors than female authors. I gather that means you read some books by male authors who write female or ‘both’ (or ‘other’) main characters? Oh and I loved the ‘cat, female’ category btw, made me laugh.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. πŸ™‚ I was wondering about the female-male thing too
      and the cat πŸ˜€ I’ve read the Grumpy Cat graphic novel, I’ll post review when it will be ready. It’s a fun read :D. She kind of reminds me of… me… at work… ah well πŸ˜›

      Liked by 1 person

        1. πŸ˜€ don’t make me laugh any more! I’m at work and I’m listening to Felicia Day’s “You’re never weird on the internet” audio book. It’s really hard not to laugh out loud and you’re not helping!
          πŸ˜€

          Liked by 1 person

            1. I know! I really like her in the Guild and Doctor Horrible is fantastic! Plus I’ve seen her few times in Wheaton’s TableTop and she’s fantastic!
              btw Wheaton’s “Just a geek” is gong to be my next audio book πŸ˜›

              Liked by 1 person

            2. Oh man, the Guild was like looking at my real life :D. My husband got me a copy of a Dr. Horrible Singalong book and played ‘Do you wanna date my Avatar’ in his car on our first date to swoon me over. Nuf said :D. Awesoooome! Is he narrating it himself? I still need to listen to ‘Ready Player One’ some day

              Liked by 1 person

            3. I just checked and yes it is! both of the books are read by authors + Felicia’s has intro by Joss Wheddon and Will’s by Neil Gaiman!!
              I’M IN LOVE!… with the books… it’s totally normal, just a phase…

              I haven’t read “Ready Player One” yet, it’s on my list too, but I don’t know when will I read/listen to it

              Liked by 1 person

    1. If you’ve seen and like the Martian movie then the book is even better πŸ˜›

      I know some people read way more, but I have so many other things to do :D, so I’m happy with what I’ve read by now.

      Liked by 1 person

What's on your mind?

