The Book Courtship Tag

For a start I’d like to wish everyone who’s celebrating Happy Easter! I hope you’ll be able to eat as many chocolate eggs as your stomach can handle :D.

Colorful easter eggs

I was tagged for this ages ago by Raven @ Dreamy addictions. Thank you! 😀

The Book Courtship TagRaven’s got a fantastic blog, so you should definitely visit!

I received this tag from two other people, but one blog ceased to exist and I can’t seem to find the other… If you were the person who tagged me – let me know!

I’ve started choosing the books for this tag and I realized I will repeat myself. I did mention most of these books on few occasions already, but I simply can’t make a different choice!

Phase 1 – Initial Attraction: A book that you bought because of the cover?

GravityThere’s plenty of these on my shelf :D. On on my e-reader. and on my TBR list… But I think I’ll choose “Gravity” by Melissa West.

The cover was one reason I picked it up, the title was the other. I had a moment when I read few books with the word “gravity” in title. When I started reading this one I did not suspect I’ll like it so much. After all it was yet another dystopian young-adult novel. I’m glad I read it, it was great!

Phase 2 – First Impressions: A book that you got because of the summary?

Blue Moon RisingBlue Moon Rising” by Simon R. Green

The English summary isn’t so interesting, so don’t even bother checking :P. The one they wrote for Polish edition is what caught my attention. Instead of a standard description of what might happen in the story, you see dictionary-like entries. Here’s what’s on the first book (because for some strange reason they split this book into two for Polish edition):

  • PRINCE male being, equipped with a sword and a magic horse, used to kill dragons and rescuing princesses.
  • PRINCESS female being, is used to marrying the prince (see kingdom, alliance).
  • DRAGON – large, scaly animal, known collectible tendencies. The most frequent cause of death impaled on a sharp object held by the prince.
  • UNICORN a horse with a horn, mounting it requires special qualifications (virginity).
  • DESTRUCTION OF THE KINGDOM caused by external factors[demons] or internal [conspiracies]. Difficult to avoid, unless you have a prince at hand (see the death in battle).

 

Phase 3 – Sweet Talk: A book with great writing?

Korona śniegu i krwiCrown of snow and blood” by Elżbieta Cherezińska

Fantastic historical novel with some fantasy elements. This book is magical and it brings a fresh look into Polish history. I loved reading this book. I’m not much of a history enthusiast, but this was amazing.

Phase 4 – First Date: The first book of a series which made you want to pick up the rest of the series?

The SummonerThe Summoner” by Gail Z. Martin

Yet another fantasy book that should be a must-read for every fantasy fan out there. You’ve got all you need there – magic, adventure , fight for survival. And the rare thing – he needs to learn to use his magic. He doesn’t just figure it all at once. It was a nice change from all the books when someone finds out they have some kind of powers and they know how to use it already.

Phase 5 – Late Night Phone Calls: A book that kept you up all night?

Harry Potter box setI don’t think it’s going to be much of a surprise if I’ll say “Harry Potter” by J.K. Rowling.

It’s a fantastic series and the first three kept me aways till late night hours. The first one I read in one day, finished it already late at nigh, but I couldn’t resist and started the next book right away. Lucky I had it :D.

Phase 6 – Always on my mind: A book you could not stop thinking about?

Loneliness on the NetLoneliness on the Net” by Janusz Leon Wiśniewski

It made me cry so much! I admit, it might not be the best book out there and there might be many that will make you feel so much, but I liked it and I had a hard time picking up anything else after I was done reading this one.

Phase 7 – Getting Physical: A book which you love the way it feels?

Opowieści z wilżyńskiej dolinyTales From Wilżyńska Valley” by Anna Brzezińska.

I love this cover! I love how certain elements have their own structure. Plus it looks great and I could as well put this book in Phase 1, but let’s no overdo it :D.

Phase 8 – Meeting the parents: A book which you would recommend to your family and friends?

MartianPretty much any I’ve mentioned before and after :P. But since I’ve just finished The Martian and loved it – here it is!

The Martian” by Andy Weir (btw, have you read the short-story prequel? It’s also fantastic)

That’s all I have to say about it. It’s great! Go read it. Now!

Phase 9 – Thinking about the future: A book or series you know you will re-read many times in the future?

Guards GuardsDiscworld” series by Terry Pratchett

I actually made it a goal to gather all the books from Discworld series in English for my home library. I’ve got 8 books now… still many to go, but it’s worth it! Anyway, I read them in Polish (not all yet), some of them I listened to in English and I listened to every BBC adaptation I found.

Phase 10 – Share the love: Who do you tag?

Whoever wants to be tagged. In other words – You’re it!

2 thoughts on “The Book Courtship Tag

  1. Pingback: The Book Courtship Tag | A Keyboard and an Open Mind

What's on your mind?

