Top 5 Wednesday – Bookish Habits

imgresSince this week’s theme was supposed to be about DNF books and I don’t have that many of them I’ve decided to check last year’s themes and look what I found? A perfect topic!

I wonder how many of you wrote a post about your bookish habits. Want to share? Leave me a link, I’d love to see if we have any in common πŸ˜€

5

The trackers

goodreadsMostly it’s Goodreads – I’m adding all the things I’ve read/listened to in there (eventually). But I also have an excel trackers for the BBC dramas and for all the review copies. So yes, I like trackers :P. It’s a bit of order in my unorganized world.

4


Breaking the spine

Breaking the spineI know many of you think it’s a blasphemy, but honestly, I don’t really care. If the book gets too hard to read at some point without bending the spine, I’ll flat it out. Live with it!

Unless it’s a borrowed book, I’ll leave these in the same state I got them.

As for any other book-destroying habits, I think I have none. I don’t write in them, I don’t bend the pages, I like my books clean. I even keep the dust covers on.

3


Buying and freebies

Aaaah the book owning thing. In short – I like owning books.

promotionLet’s start with easy ones – the freebies. When I see it and I find it even mildly interesting I’ll take it. It might stay on my Amazon account for ages, I might never see this book again. I know it’s a bad habit, but it keeps my kindle full and my wallet happy.

The not-so-free books.Β Once in a while, I find myself in a bookstore. Reasons might vary, from the need to find a gift to the simple “oh look, a bookstore! I had no idea it was here” ;). Anyway, Sometimes I simply go through the shelves and catch a book or two that I need to buy right away and sometimes I go around, do some weird book-touching (you know, when you want to have a book, but you can’t afford it right now or when you’ve read it and it brings happy memories and you simply want to touch it) and list the books I want to buy, usually on my phone. I then go to one of the online stores and check for the best promo to get what I wanted :D.

And then there are these moments when you see one of your to-buy books on huge promo and you simply can’t resist! I hope you guys understand me.

2

Finishing the page

one more pageWhen it goes to a reading breaks I don’t have to read until the end of a chapter to take a break. I like doing that, but it’s not a must. But I do like to get to the end of a page. Preferably to the page that doesn’t end in the middle of a sentence. You can see where this isΒ going right? I hate when my train is closing to my station and I know I’ll have to put the book down in a minute, but I’m still half-way through and the page breaks in the middle of a sentence… Well, damn. I learned to live with it, but it still annoys me.

1


Reading while walking

reading while walkingOne of the weird habits I’ve got since school. I learned to do that quite early on and I can’t stop. The good part – a simple thing like a walk won’t stop me reading, that usually gives me 50 more minutes of reading each day. Good thing I live in a small town and I don’t have that many “big” roads to cross on an everyday basis.

To the ones that probably have a certain question in mind right now – no, I don’t fall into things, I don’t bang on the lampposts while reading, etc. It seems my other senses only seem to be turned off (I might not hear someone talking to me, but I will hear a car closing by) but they keep my body more or less safe. I did step into puddles few times, It’s hard to avoid this πŸ˜› but that’s pretty much the only danger. Well, the reading gets hard if the light lever around me is much lower than on my reading device, my senses have limits too :D.

TV-Kitty-icon2

Want to share your Top 5 Wednesday list? Feel free to do so πŸ˜€

16 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – Bookish Habits

  1. Ha ! I can’t stand taking a break in the middle of a page! It’s just something I can’t deal with, I’m quite frankly a weird person because I am very messy and perfectionist at the same time πŸ˜‚ Even stopping before the end of a chapter is something painful to me, I only do it if I absolutely have to (like when I’m reading before class)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Book buying ❀ I have a book buying compulsion, and it's so bad that my sister wouldn't let me go to a bookstore anymore. Although, not like it stopped me much since there's always online shopping haha but ❀ I just love owning books too, and when I see discounts, I just can't let it go.

    And freebies! ❀ Everyone loves freebies ❀ haha And I agree, keeps the wallet happy :3

    And oh! Reading while walking! lol I haven't done that since i moved back to my home country from Melbourne.
    I used to read while I walk at the Central Garden near my uni. Good old days hahah

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Diana

    I love how you have done your post. I did not have enough DNFs so I just did my own thing too.

    Reading while walking, I work at a University so I only do that within Campus. Can’t dare do it anywhere else, Nairobi is dangerous :-). I have never really thought about reading breaks until I saw yours. I guess in my case, I have to get to the end of the chapter or I get bugged about it.

    This is really lovely post.

    https://dwgitau.wordpress.com/2016/03/23/top-5-wednesday-book-i-did-not-finish/ – This is my DNF for today

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Guilty of number 3, 4 and 5! πŸ˜€ Reading while walking, however? What the heck?! (no seriously, I envy your skill there because omg, I’m imagining the extra reading time I’d have now! I’m already walking into lamp post without reading, though, so might not be the smartest thing to try out XD)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. the reading and walking thing is totally what I do… when i was younger there were many a time that after coming from the library I walked past my home cause my nose was in a book… πŸ™‚ Now i tend to read as well when walking through the town and when i don’t have a purpose.. say grocery shopping! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh, touching books πŸ˜€ I do this all the time in bookstores also, haha. I’m glad I’m not the only one πŸ˜€ I also like to smell books but try to avoid this when I’m in public – it can be weird to some people, haha.
    And I admire you, that you can walk and read at the same time. I can’t do this.

    Liked by 1 person

What's on your mind?

